What we take for granted………….

himalayan-mtsFor the past month now in Nepal, the snow mountains which are hidden most of the year behind the clouds and smog have been displayed in all their beauty. The first few days as I would look out my window and catch a glimpse of them, I stood in awe of the Lord’s mighty work. Marveling at how great He is that He could create something so grand.

But something happened as the days and weeks continued to pass by. Instead of standing in awe of this masterpiece visibly seen from my bedroom window… the other day I noticed that after a quick glance I passed them by.

And I thought to myself, how often is this the same with God.

At times I stand in awe of how great and awesome our God is. I am overwhelmed by His unending love. I am humbled by His amazing grace and like Isaiah fall before this great God undone.

Then there are days when I forget or I quickly overlook these same truths.

As it is nearing Thanksgiving, I am reminded of all I have to be thankful for, things so often I am quick to take for granted. Things I think so little of until I am reminded of those who have so much less.

In our house we have a thankful tree, which we have been adding leaves written with what we are thankful  for, for the past month. As I was reading the items listed today I was overwhelmed by the goodness and greatness of our God.

Of course living here has taught us to be thankful for the simple things like cooking gas, water, electricity and the gyeser (heater for hot showers). But then again, aren’t these things we all should be thankful for.

The heavens declare the glory of the Lord, they display His greatness for all the world to see. And this great, amazing God loves us and provides for us daily.

May we all stop in the midst of our busy lives to truly give thanks for who God is and for all He has done!

 

 

Leave a Reply

