Who are what is your master?

mastered by godI’m sure this will declare my age. But, when I was growing up, I can remember scheduling my homework and activities around my favorite t.v. shows. You know, Who’s the Boss, Growing Pains, Cosby Show, and later Beverly Hills 90210 (until it got too racy). I hated to miss an episode, and would make sure to record the show if I was going to be out.

This morning the preacher was talking about a verse in I Corinthians where Paul says all things are lawful, but not all are beneficial, and that he would not be mastered by anything!

Which made me think on how I use to schedule my day. And made me ponder what things do I schedule my day around now? Is there anything that masters me? Anything that has control over my life other than God?

As believers all things are lawful, we have freedom in Christ. But Paul would tell us that we are not to use that freedom to sin. In fact in the above verse, Paul wants the people to understand that unless the thing is beneficial to his Christian life, he’s not going to waste his time. And he is certainly not going to let anything have master over him.

In the past year, especially living overseas. I have had a tendency to check Facebook often. Wanting to not miss out on what is happening back home and have realized that often this has mastered me and certainly has not been beneficial.

But good things can master us as well. Doing good works can become our master. Serving others can become our master, pleasing others our master.

Yet none of this is beneficial to us. For the only master we should have in our lives is the Lord. Never allowing anything or anyone master us.

Life is full of needs, wants, good and bad. But none of these things or these people should master us.

This next week I challenge you and I challenge myself to ask yourself before doing anything… is this thing I’m about to do is it beneficial to my walk with the Lord and why am I doing it? Am I doing it because I feel I must, or am I doing it to please the Lord.

Sorry moms, this doesn’t mean you can nix the laundry, cooking or cleaning this week saying it isn’t beneficial to your walk with the Lord. Because quite the opposite is true. For you see, as you serve your family that God has called you to, you serve Him. 🙂

Is God master or something  or someone else? How are you spending your time?Are the things you’re doing beneficial to your walk with the Lord, or do they deter you in your walk with Him?

One verse, yet so convicting.

“All things are lawful for me, but not all things are profitable. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be mastered by anything. (I Corinthians 6:12)”

2 thoughts on “Who are what is your master?

  1. i love this. lately it’s so easy to fall prey to the lust of the eyes due to the influx of unholy media around us. I try to question myself before taking decisions and doing stuff and i am more gingered up to do so now. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

