Our Serving Savior

serving others“But the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve and to give His life as a ransom for many.”

Mark 10:45

When we first arrived in Central Asia I couldn’t wait to serve the people, to meet needs, to share Christ. I have a hard time saying no, so I said yes to every opportunity thrown my way to serve the people here.

Now almost two years have passed, and if I’m not careful I take on the wrong attitude. Wanting others to serve me rather than wanting to serve them.

Sometimes it is hard. Hard to serve people who are not interested, who don’t care. Difficult to serve those who hurt you, take advantage of you, and treat you unkindly.

But then I’m reminded of Mark 10:45 and our Serving Savior.

See, Jesus who is fully God, yet fully man, left all of Heaven and its glory, and took on the role of a bond servant. And according to this verse, He came not for others to serve Him, but so that He could serve the people.

Here we have the King of Glory, worthy of all praise. Yet, in His ministry here, we see Him not accepting the praise of man. Instead we find Him healing the sick, casting out demons, raising the dead, and washing His disciples feet.

He came to serve!

Not only is this amazing in and of itself. What is more amazing, is the people He came to serve rejected Him. They mocked Him, made fun of Him, and many wanted nothing to do with Him. Yet, He served.

The night before the crucifixion, He washed His disciples feet, demonstrating service to others and told them to go and do likewise. And on this night, He even washed Judas feet, the one who would go on to betray Him with a kiss.

He served His betrayer. He served people who made fun of Him. He served those who rejected Him.

See, it is easy to serve those who appreciate it. Easy to serve when you can walk away feeling a sense of accomplishment. Yet, difficult to serve those who don’t care.

But Jesus… He is our example. He is whom we are to follow, and He has told us to go and do likewise.

So when I’m struggling, wanting appreciation, wanting a little service done for me. I quickly have to fix my mind, my thoughts on Christ.

And remember why I have come. Remember that the people here are the people God has called me to serve, the people He has called me to set an example before, the people He has called me to pour myself out for.

Sometimes it is easy, but often it is hard.

But it doesn’t matter. Because it is my job to follow my Savior’s example and to serve just as He served.

How about you? Why do you do the things you do? Who has God called you to serve?

I encourage you to remember our Serving Savior, who deserved more than anyone to be served, to be praised. But who stooped down and served the least of these.

Oh may we never forget our greatest job as a Christian is to serve others! May our focus not be upon ourselves and what we think we deserve. But may our focus be on our Savior who left everything to come and serve.

And not only to serve, but to give His life as a ransom for many!

What a Savior… He only is worthy of our praise!

Leave a Reply

