Motivated by fear or faith??!!

img_9800
img_9800

What motivates me to do the things I do? What drives my decisions?

I want to be super spiritual and tell you it is always faith, but the truth is often it is not faith it is fear. Fear of the unknown, fear of the future, fear of failure, fear of what others may think… fear, fear, fear.

As I am working my way through I Samuel I recently read of how twice God gave King Saul into David’s hands. Twice, David could have killed Saul and taken the throne, but both times, he was unwilling to touch God’s anointed. Two times he approached Saul and could have been killed, yet was protected by God.

But then the Bible tells us that, “David thought to himself, ‘One of these days I will be destroyed by the hand of Saul.'” And then he crosses over to the enemy’s side and fights for them.

Each time I read this I want to shake David and say, what are you thinking? I mean seriously you have watched God take care of you again and again. You have seen Him deliver you very enemy into your hand. He has shown you time and time again that He is with you and has blessed the work of your hands. How can you seriously believe that now after all of this, God will allow King Saul to kill you. Don’t you remember you were anointed to be King??

I asked my husband why or how David got to this point. And his answer was simple. David was tired. He got tired of running, tired of waiting, tired of not seeing God answer prayers, tired of loosing loved ones (Jonathan and Michael). And when you get tired and weary when you’re in the hard places, the enemy has you exactly where He wants you. And if you aren’t careful, you have crossed into his territory and instead of serving God in faith, your serving the enemy in fear.

For so long, David had been led and motivated by his faith in God. But suddenly he has nothing left, and instead of being motivated by faith… He allows fear to motivate.

And can I just tell you, I’m also guilty of this.

When my thoughts and focus are on the Lord and I’m trusting in Him, then it doesn’t matter what happens my faith carries me through. But as soon as my thoughts center upon the problems and my eyes are fixed on the issues at hand… I like David begin to think to myself, and then before long it is fear that is carrying me through.

But there is another important lesson here, one we are quick to skip over. When we are tired, when we are weary, we are more susceptible to the enemies schemes. Which means we must get the rest, exercise, sleep, and nutrition our body needs. If we are burning the candle at both ends, always running to the next thing, eventually we will crash.

So let’s learn from David’s mistakes. As Paul instructs us to in Romans 15:4 saying, “For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us,so that through endurance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope!”

What’s motivating you today? Let it be faith rather than fear!

Leave a Reply

