My Strong Tower

strong tower“The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.” – Proverbs 18:10 

Our journey to Chitwan was nothing short of exciting. Right before we started out, I took a motion sickness pill, hoping it would knock me out. (If you have ever ridden on the curvy, mountainous roads of Nepal, you understand 🙂 ) For me seeing where we are going or how big the drop off on the side of the road is, is too much.  And thankfully it worked, I dozed on and off until we were stopped in traffic. We knew road work was going on and that the bus was trying to get passed a section of the road before a certain time. However, we had just missed getting through and ended up sitting in traffic for about an hour, as we watched a bulldozer going up the mountain, carving through the dirt, and rocks falling down into the road. It looked like a landslide, and in one sense it was, but it was intentional. Yet, it gave a whole new meaning to the “watch for falling rocks” signs seen in the States.watch for falling rocks

This morning, we took a jeep safari into the Chitwan National Park, hoping to see the animals before they hid in the dark cool places, to wait out the heat of the day. We saw numerous types of birds, peacocks, rhinos, deer, monkeys, wild boars, and bison. It was great. We also saw watchtowers scattered throughout the park, where the military guys would stand on guard. These towers were pretty high up, giving the officers a good view of the park.

As we passed by these places, I couldn’t help but be reminded that God is my strong tower. He sets up high seeing and knows in advance what things will happen, He is on the lookout for predators lurking in a distance, and He knows how and when to step in to save the day.

When I’m feeling tossed and tempted by this world, He is my High Place to run to. To find shelter from the storms of life and to rest in His perfect arms. Which provide peace, safety and love.

Living in Nepal, where many believe in Karma, and in an endless cycle of death and rebirth. How blessed I am to know the truth. That Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. How blessed I am that the Lord has opened my eyes to these truth, and welcomed me into His family.

To know that in the storms of life, I can run to Him. To know that He is there watching over me and taking care of what happens daily in my life. To know that when I die, I will go on to be with Him.

Life in Nepal is far from certain, nothing is for sure.

Yet, My God is faithful. He is certain, He is for sure. And no matter what, I can count on Him.

Though I may fail Him, He never fails me!

Leave a Reply

