The Fingerprints of God

finger prints of godI love to look back and see what God saw all along.

Yet, when you are in the midst of “life”, it is hard to detect the hand of God.

As a young child, I vividly remember a missionary coming to our church sharing about her life in Argentina. I thought she looked funny in her “costume”. I thought she talked a little weird, sure. But, I was mesmerized with the idea that she was living in some far off place, telling people about Jesus. It seemed so exciting, and I knew someday I wanted to do just that.

In junior high, I began voice lessons, which I ended up taking for some 9 years. I didn’t know then why, but on Sunday as  I sang with our team in the English service, the Lord reminded me of His bigger picture.

When I was in college, I went through a dark time, where all I had was the Lord. And I learned that He was enough. A lesson I would need over and over again as the Lord led me onward, serving Him around the world.

In seminary, though I wanted to go straight to the mission field, God wanted me to have a partner first. Which led me to switch degrees and get my Masters in Christian Education rather than Masters in Missiology. Having to change degrees made me angry at the time, but overwhelms my heart now as I look back now at why. Having used this “degree” to serve kids on the mission field.

Two wonderful years in Korea, gave us a taste of life overseas, wetting our appetites for more. That has thus led us to where we are today, in Central Asia.

Two difficult years living in the states, two years of waiting on God, and not understanding why everything had to be so hard. Prepared us for the difficulties we face regularly now.

The truth we all know, is that nothing is wasted in God’s plan. No situation, no circumstance is only coincidence. No, every detail of every day of our lives is a small part of the big picture God wants to paint.

When I look back at my life, I stand amazed. Not because of anything I have accomplished.

I stand amazed at how amazing my God is.

Humbled and astonished that God could and would use the tiniest details of my days, to prepare me for right here, right now.

Sometimes, I wonder at what the next 10 years or so will be like. What they will entail.

I think, what is God using “now” to prepare me for “then.”

The truth is I don’t have a clue. Yet, I do know that whatever it is, it will be good.

And I know that what I’m learning now, God will use then.

Friend, wherever God has you right now, be all there.

Embrace that place, embrace those circumstances, embrace even the difficulties. For what you are going through now, where God has you now is all for His purposes.

You may not understand the why now.

However, one day you will look back, and you will see How Great is Our God!

Recently I was talking with our pastor. Who was saying how much he enjoys it when he can catch a glimpse of God’s bigger picture.

I couldn’t agree more.

So often we are caught up in the daily grind, and we miss it.

We miss God.

Yet, He is there. Molding us, shaping us, building us, growing, us, stretching us. So that He can use us even more later.

May the Lord give us eyes to see as He see’s .

So that we may rejoice in where He has us now. Knowing, believing that there is “more” to the story, just around the corner.

His fingerprints are everywhere, if we would just take a step back and look.

No where does He leave us. He goes before us, with us and behind us.

Maybe you’re in a place you don’t want to be… I’ve been there. Yet, I encourage you to hold on and hold fast to the Lord. Wait upon Him, and one day soon, you will look back and understand.

Maybe your starting a new journey. Change is hard, but God is with you. You are never alone. And never forget, He has prepared you for this day, your ready. Go and await His goodness.

You could be in the midst of your journey, like me. And you can look back and see His fingerprints. Enjoy this time, and allow Him to use your “now” to prepare you for the days ahead.

Wherever God has you, be all there.

And allow Him to teach you, to use you, to grow you and to encourage you.

Then one day soon, you will look back and you will see all that God has done for you. And you will know that He alone is the One true God, and the only One worthy of praise.

Leave a Reply

