Giving Thanks

fallMaybe it is the cool nights and mornings, due to the monsoon season.
Maybe it is that itch I get every year about this time, for fall.

But regardless I’m ready to pull out the fall decorations, put on a pot of cider,and bake an apple pie.

I love the fall season. The decorations, the crisp air, the yummy foods, and of course the pumpkins.

The whole season it seems leads up to Thanksgiving, quickly followed by Christmas.

Yet, the Lord has been teaching me that giving thanks, is not a season. It isn’t even a special day.

Giving thanks, is to be and should be a way of life.

Serving on the foreign field, and living in an underdeveloped country makes it easy to criticize. Easy to compare here to there. Even easier to complain.

And if we are all honest, it doesn’t really matter where we live, how much money we have, what our job may be… our human tendency is bent toward complaining.

This is what comes natural.

But, the Lord is showing me that true joy, true happiness begins with a thankful heart.

One of the best ways I find to get myself out of the “dump”, is to count my blessings.

As I begin to thank the Lord for who He is, for all He has done, for what He is doing even now… I am overwhelmed.

I think this is why in I Thess. 5:16 we are told to give thanks in EVERYTHING!

Why, because in everything whether the good or the bad, we still have reason to be thankful.

And as we give thanks, our hearts are filled with His joy, His peace, His love.

So though I love fall, and though I love the fact that in America we have a special day called Thanksgiving.

This is certainly not a one season or one day celebration.

As Christians, this is to be our way of life.

Living each day with grateful hearts.

Teaching our children to see the good in life, the good in difficult times.

Instructing them to be thankful rather than to complain.

Life can be hard, the spiritual journey difficult.

Yet, one of the keys I believe, is to choose joy.

Allowing the joy of the Lord to be our strength.

Joy that is found as we give thanks unto the Lord.

Give praise to the LORD, proclaim his name; make known among the nations what he has done.

Psalm 105:1

Leave a Reply

