The True Answer to our Problems and Source of our Strength

towzerTwice now in the past week, I have heard messages preached on the importance of being in God’s Word.

Last Sunday my husband Eric preached on “When we miss Jesus in our lives.” Talking in-depth about how easy it is to lose sight of the Lord in our daily lives. We say we need God, we know we need the Lord, but far too often we leave Him out. Going about our days in our own strength, our own power. Wondering why we are often left feeling defeated, tired and worn.

Then today, a visiting professor from the Philippines preached on why we need to daily be studying God’s Word. He shared that when we stop and spend time with the Lord, we will be enriched and amazed by His wisdom, the loftiness of His ways, the profound counsel of the Lord, and the splendor of His grace.

Last week I was convicted about how often I fail to sit at Jesus feet, acting much more like Martha.. doing, doing and doing. Today, I was convinced that the true answer for many of my prayer request, the true source of my strength is found in time spent with Jesus.

Many times, I find myself praying God would help me to be a better wife, a better mom. That He would help me to desire Him and the things of Him more. That I would hunger and thirst after Him.

As I bowed before the Lord, it was as if the light bulb went on.

How do I become a better wife and mother, by becoming more like Christ.

How do I desire the Lord and the things above, thirsting and hungering after Him? By becoming more like Jesus.

And how do I become more like Jesus? By spending time in God’s Word.

So simple, yet so profound.

Mary desired the things of God, because she spent time at Jesus feet.

Martha was distracted, busy, frustrated because he focus was upon other things.

So often I hear people say, “I just don’t have time to have my quiet time.” Many times I hear this from people in the ministry. Many times, I find myself saying the same thing.

Yet, how is this possible. For how can we minister, how can we serve others, love Jesus, or please the Father unless we have first spent time in His presence.

The truth is, we don’t have time not to spend with the Lord.

My husband tells a story about how when he was in seminary, he was scheduled to preach at the local prison. However, the next day he had a huge exam where he had to know lots of Scripture verses word for word in the King James Version. He had not studied for this test, and was not prepared. He wanted to call the prison and tell them he couldn’t come. But the Lord softly spoke to His heart and told him that if he honored the Lord and put Him first, that the Lord would honor him. So off he went to the prison. Around ten pm he arrived back home, studied for a while and then fell asleep. The next morning, before the test, he prayed and asked the Lord to help him. And the Lord did just that. For when he got his test back, not only had he done well, he had made a 100. He says that God taught him a valuable lesson that night, that he has never forgotten. “When we honor God, God honor us.”

I’m convinced that if we put the Lord first, if we spend time sitting at His feet. He will help us with all the other things we have to do that day.

The Lord is showing me that the answer to so many of my prayers can be found as I just dig into His Word.

I’m learning that in order to serve others, I first have to be draw my strength from the Lord.

Many times, we lack joy, we lack satisfaction or motivation with life. When in fact the Bible tells us that, “the joy of the Lord is our strength.” Our true satisfaction is found only in Christ. And as we feast upon the Lord, drawing closer and closer to Him, we are motivated and compelled to serve Him.

It is easy to gripe, easy to complain. Easy to see the problems, but when we get close to the Lord, we gain a new perspective. We see things through His eyes, and we are overwhelmed by His grace. When we spend time with Jesus, He speaks to us through His Word, guiding our feet.

The true answer to our problems, the true source of our strength is Jesus. And the more time we spend with Him, the more we will become like Him. The more like Christ we become, the less our eyes will be upon ourselves and the more they will be placed upon Him.

Man may look at the outward appearance, and may be able to fool many people by his good works. But the Lord, He looks at the heart. He is never fooled by our works, for He knows our hearts.

Let us then draw near to the throne of Grace. Let us seek to daily put the Lord first. Setting aside time to sit at the Lord’s feet.

For He alone is Worthy, nothing else.

Leave a Reply

