So Teach Me to Number My Days….

teach us to number our daysI can remember praying that the Lord would teach me to number my days.
That He would help me to grasp just how fleeting this life on earth really is.

It seems so often our focus is on this earthly life.  What we do, what we say, where we go are all affected by this. When in fact, our focus should be on the eternal where neither moth or rust can destroy.

In Korea one Sunday, our pastor brought a long rope to the service. On one end, there was a small section  colored red. He told us that this small section represented this life on earth, and then he showed the rest of the rope that seemed to go on forever. He said, this rope represented eternity.

I have never forgotten this, nor its implications.

When we first arrived in Nepal,  a good friend gave me some words of wisdom.

She said, “Nothing is certain in Nepal.”

Over the first few months I learned this when repairmen would say they were coming, but would fail to show up.

I learned this when I was told one thing, but another was done.

My kids have even learned this, as we have planned to take trips during school breaks, but these plans were interrupted due to strikes, water problems etc.

Yet this has become a reality now since the earthquake. As each day I grasp that life is not certain.

The Bible says life is but a vapor, and that it is the Lord who knows the length of our days.

The Lord is teaching me that truly the only thing that will last forever, is His Word

I’m learning that the only thing you can count on 100% is the Lord.

That the only thing for certain is everlasting life, found in only in Jesus.

As I have said the only thing worse than an earthquake, is the fear of another.

So each day I must ask  myself, will I live in fear today or rest in the fact that My God is on His throne?

The truth is, life is uncertain.

None of us knows what tomorrow will bring.

None of us know the number of our days.

But one thing is for certain for those who know Jesus.

That despite the uncertainties of life, our eternity with Him is for sure.

When I think about the fact that God has saved our family twice now from an earthquake, I stand amazed.

As I realize for sure that God is not done with us yet.

And I am reminded that our time on this earth is short.

Which spurs me on to want to live out each day for His glory.

Alerting me to the fact that we are Christ Ambassadors, and that God wants to use us to compel others to Christ.

Many here in Nepal feel hopeless. The number of depression has risen. This traumatic event has made a definite impact upon lives. People have many questions…

And God has us here for such a time as this.

To go out in His name and point others to Him.

No matter where in life God has you, He has you there for such a time as this. May we look to Him each day, asking Him to show us His plans for us that day. Then may we be faithful to do what He has called us to.

Blessings from Nepal.

 

Leave a Reply

