When People Let You Down….

god never failsHas someone ever let you down? I mean you thought highly of this person and then something happens and your left feeling the blow?

The truth is everyone eventually lets you down, given enough time.

Even the best of people, those who love you the most, let you down.

Though our intention is usually not to let others down, we all fall into this at times. Because we are human.

As I continued my reading of 2 Corinthians 1, I realized that the Corinthian church felt Paul had let them down.

Paul, the church leader, the one who began their church, had let them down, surely not?!

Though he had intended to visit them in Corinth, his plans had been changed. And they were left wondering if his words were true, could they trust him?

Often people let us down unintentionally. Life just happens and they are left unable to do what they said they’d do. Other times people just forget, and fail to follow through. Occasionally, we are let down intentionally.

As I read this, I thought of the many times I have let down those I love. I thought of the times those I love have let me down. And I’m left feeling bad either way.

Yet, as I read, I was reminded that there is one who will never let us down. One who is always faithful, one who’s yes is always yes. One who fulfills each and every promise He makes….. The Lord God Almighty!

Paul too reminds the Corinthians of this truth when he says, “For as many as may be the promises of God in Him, they are yes; wherefore also by Him is our Amen to the glory of God through us (II Corinthians 1:20).”

I love the old hymn, Great Is Thy Faithfulness, for it speaks of the mercies of the Lord, and the fact that He is always faithful. No matter what.

The reality is, people will let us down, family and friends will disappoint us. Loved ones will hurt us.

But there is One who sticketh closer than a brother. One who despite their day, despite their business, will never ever fail us.

Paul ends chapter one by reminding the Corinthians, that it is by faith that they are standing firm!

Reminding them, that it is their faith in Christ, and the faithfulness of God that keeps them and enables them to live for the Lord.

He reminds them that they are not dependent upon him, nor is their faith. Demonstrating to them, their utter dependence must be upon the Lord.

Often times, we mistakenly place our faith in others, we depend a bit too much on our loved ones.

And eventually, we will suffer a let down.

Why? Because God never intended our faith or dependence be placed upon others. He intends that it be fully placed upon Him.

So when others let you down, and they will.

When people hurt you, and they will.

When loved ones fail you, and they will.

Remember that there is One who never will.

There is One who always keeps His promises. One who we can fully and completely depend upon.

His name is Jesus!

Let us then stand firm in our walk with Him, not because of our pastor, not because of our Bible study teacher.

But because our faith has been placed completely upon Him.

 

 

2 thoughts on “When People Let You Down….

  1. TGAWrites

    I have been there, I relate. I have trusted in people and they hurt me. And also, others had trusted in me and I have let them down. It’s so true and a reality what you explain here in this post. We need to understand that we make mistakes and people can hurt us and let us down. But, we must look at Jesus and our Father because He is faithful always there for us. He understand our sufferings and heal us when we need it the most. Blessings to you and thanks for encouraging me. This reminds me to always depend on Him!!!!

    Love,

    Tayrina from TGAWrites
    Words of Comfort and Encouragement
    http://tgawrites.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Why we have to forgive… | mandylynncarpenter

Leave a Reply

