The tendency to grumble and complain….

praiseI once listened to a sermon by David Platt. He began by reading Psalm 150, and concluded this reading by saying, “Praise the Lord.” Humorously he asked the question, “what if that last line said, let everything that praises the Lord have breath, how many of us would be living? 🙂

Yet today, I woke up feeling much like the Israelites must have felt as they wandered in the wilderness. Doing more grumbling and complaining than praising.

The Israelites had left Egypt, and were following the leading of Moses, as he led them to the promised land.

Yet, problems quickly rose up, the biggest being their need for water.

And they were quick to grumble, and to complain about this need, failing to trust the same God who had delivered them from the Egyptians.

Our water issues started a couple of days ago. The night before,while washing dishes, I realized we were out of water, and told my husband. So he pumped water for almost an hour (the pump takes the water from our well, to the top of the house to the storage containers). It seemed strange that we were out of water, since we had just pumped water a few days before. None the less, we did what we needed to do, finished the dishes, and went to bed. Somewhere during the night, I woke up to use the toilet and when I did, I was shocked to find that there was no water. I went throughout the house checking the sinks, which just sputtered.

So I did the only thing I knew to do, I woke up my hubby at 5 am. We wondered if maybe there was a toilet leaking, so we turned off all but one toilet, and pumped water once more. (By this point, the water in the well is getting really low).  After getting the kids up, we went about our morning and got everyone off to school.

After getting home in the afternoon, we checked the water, and were once again shocked and frustrated by the fact that the water was gone.

By this point, I was scratching my head in wonder and had begun complaining. How were we going to wash clothes, take showers, wash dishes etc.. without water.

Having been up since around 4:30, I was exhausted and went to bed. Eric contacted the owner and was told a plumber would be here the next day.

I woke up today feeling sorry for myself. Thursday is my day to stay home. It is the day I wash clothes, clean the house, and try to get all the things done I have little time to do during the rest of the week. Now I was wondering how would I do all that needed to be done.

Thankfully, my loving husband had a better outlook. As he prayed over breakfast, the Lord struck my heart. Showing me I was acting just like the Israelites. Forgetting Whom I serve, my eyes had drifted to my problems and self-pity. As Eric prayed, he thanked God for being the joy of our strength. He thanked God that He was the God who sees, and that though we had problems, we were blessed.

I was humbled by my attitude, and likewise repented before the Lord.

This hasn’t changed my water problems. I still don’t know how I will get the housework that needs to be accomplished done today. Yet, I can thank God, and sing praises to Him.

Because though I do not have water, I have Living Water. Water that fills my every need. Water that satisfies, that cleanses me of my sin, and gives me hope for tomorrow.

Are you like me? Do you have grumbling tendencies when things go wrong? Or do you see problems through God’s eyes. Allowing each trial to be a teaching moment between you and the Lord.

It seems each day I realize just how far I have to go. I realize each day that though my heart longs to be right with the Lord, my flesh is still real. Fighting against the Spirit.

I challenge you as the Lord has challenged me. To see things from His perspective. To look at your daily struggles as teachable moments between the Lord and yourself.

God is showing me that we can learn a lot, and grow to be more like Christ, if we’d only look up! Choosing to praise Him, rather than complain.

 

Leave a Reply

