Overwhelming Grace

thankfulGrace, grace, God’s grace, Grace that will pardon and cleanse within;
Grace, grace, God’s grace, Grace that is greater than all our sin!

Sometimes I get overwhelmed by the grace of God. When I think back upon my life. When I am reminded of my sins, and how I lived for myself for so many years. How even today, that urge is there to please self rather than the Lord. I get overwhelmed. And I wonder who am I?

Who am I, that the God of the Universe, chose to make Himself known to me. To die in my place. To forgive me of all my sins and to adopt me into His family. After all I have done….

It is nothings but grace!

Then I think, why would He chose to appoint me to serve Him? To allow me the privilege to take His Gospel to the ends of the earth? Yet He has…

And it is all because of grace!

The wonderful grace of God is something to be meditated upon. It is something to sink your teeth into and hold onto.

For when we catch even a glimpse of this amazing grace, our lives are never the same.

I remember years ago, when on my second mission trip to China. I went to speak at a school. The class room was full of boys and girls who could not wait to meet the “Americans.” I shall never forget, one little boy who came up to me and said, “I didn’t sleep all night because I was so excited to meet you.”

And my heart just broke.

For who was I, a nobody. Yet, in this boys eyes, I was everything.

As I flew back to the States from China a few weeks later, I was overwhelmed once more by God’s grace.

For I realized that those kids could have been me. It could have been that I was born in China. That I was born in Iran, Iraq, Nigeria etc.

But I was not. I was born into a Christian family in the USA. I was taught the Bible from my earliest memories and had a wonderful mother and father.

And it is all because of grace.

Now, as I sit in Central Asia, surrounded by those who don’t know the Lord. The Lord has made me aware once more of this grace.

This grace that saved me. This grace that showed me my need of Him. This grace that called me.

As Paul was writing to Titus, he said, ” For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age,  while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ (Titus 2:11-13).”

Many times I wonder, how can I live this Christian life? How can I live a life that is pleasing to the Lord? Yet, as I read this verse today, the Lord showed me this truth.

For Paul said, the grace of God has appeared.

And this grace teaches us to say no to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in the present age… as we wait for Jesus!

The wonderful grace of God is what helps us to live lives pleasing to the Lord. The matchless grace of God enables us to do what is right.

As we think and dwell upon the grace in our lives. And all that God has done.

We will be undone.

And we will long to please the Lord in all things. We will hate sin and desire the things of God.

We will long to devote ourselves to the Lord fully.

Have you thought upon the grace of God in your life lately? Do you find it truly amazing, or do you take it for granted?

I challenge you to meditate upon all the Lord has done for you.

As you do, I believe with all my heart, your heart will be overwhelmed by this grace.

And you will long to live for the King!

3 thoughts on “Overwhelming Grace

      1. I am well Sister…Our Lord says for us the believers to pray he for one another. That is to encourage each other. Because we are living in perils times at this moment. Reading what you share is food for my soul, and spirit. God has given each if us tools to use, to continue building up the KINGDOM OF GOD. Enjoy you blessings every moments Sister. \O/ JESUS LOVES US…

Leave a Reply

