A Look Back….

download (1)It’s that time again… the last day of the year.

A time to reflect over 2014 and all the lessons learned.

As I look back, I truly stand amazed at the goodness of my God. Who has proved Himself time and time again as faithful and able.

The year began with us feeling we had no hope. Though we had been trying tirelessly to get back to the mission field. A year ago, this seemed an impossibility. In January, 2014, Eric took a trip to Uganda that showed us quickly that this was not the place, and ended our journey with our previous mission organization. It was quite the blow, and left us feeling very alone. We wondered where God was and why everything was so difficult. Yet, God was at work even in the midst of the difficult times. Though He was silent.. He was there with us and was working behind the scenes.

For in April, we received an email from Pastor Vijay in Nepal. The man we are now working with. We had met him on a trip to Nepal in the fall of 2013. He wrote to us in April,months after the last time we had spoken. He asked how we were doing and if we had been placed with our mission organization. Eric replied that we were doing well, but that we were no longer with this organization, and were still waiting on the Lord. Immediately we received a message back. Telling us to come to Nepal, just to come and trust God for the rest. Pastor believed and had believed all along we were suppose to be here.

After much prayer, we too realized that this had been the Lord’s plan all along. But now what, we knew where we were to go,but how were we to get there.

Thus began our journey to begin our own nonprofit organization, called Ambassadors For Truth, http://ambassadorsfortruth.org/home.aspx. Never in my wildest dreams would I have believed that God would allow us to start a nonprofit. Yet He did and just weeks ago, we got the approval of the IRS, as an official 501c3. I’m telling you, our God is amazing.

But to top that all off, the end of May we began traveling about to raise the support we would need for Nepal. As with any organization, our board of directors wanted to see us fully funded before we left for the field, and Pastor Vijay wanted us here by August if possible. It seemed impossible…. but we knew anything was possible with God. 

In two months, God raised the support we needed for our first year and by the time we left in August, He had also raised the money we would need for start-up!! It was so amazing to watch the Lord provide and take care of all of our needs!

We arrived in Nepal the end of August and got settled into our home by the middle of September. It has been a whirlwind, but we are so blessed to be here doing what God has called us to do.

Our year however ended on a sad note, when just 4 days before Christmas, we got news that Eric’s mom had passed away. Which led us to finding Eric a plane ticket home so he could be there to do the funeral, and spend time with his brothers and dad.

Our Christmas was far from normal, but I’m realizing that nothing about our lives is really normal. But that is okay. For our God is there to meet our every need and to care for us each step of the way.

A dear friend wrote to me earlier expressing to me what a great example I was and how God was using me in such a great way. I was humbled as I read her words, for I know deep down, I am no one special.  This year I have truly learned that “When I am weak, He is strong.”

I have learned that His grace truly is sufficient!

I have learned that Our God truly is able to do far more than I could ever ask or imagine!

So as this year comes to a close, I rejoice as I look back at what God has done. I also look forward in great anticipation of what the coming year will bring!!

What great things has God done in your life? I’m sure if you take the time to reflect you will see His handprints scattered throughout your days!!

Happy New Years, from the Top of the World!!!

2 thoughts on “A Look Back….

  1. Good Morning!! Thank you! Happy Bless 2015 New Year to you and your husband families in precious Jesus Christ name. God will comfort your husband, and his family of (The passing of His dear mother)Yes when we are weak, it is when He is strong! Yes I can reflect on what all my God has done in my own walk as I am spiritual growing by the moment. He is truly Faithful, and I am bless with his Mercy and Grace. Mercy and Grace has you all back. Thank you for sharing this with us. Agape! Shalom! Let us both keep one another and many others in prayers. Amen!! \O/

Leave a Reply

