One Imperfect Christmas

imperfect christmasI must say, this is the most un-normal Christmas I have ever had. In fact there isn’t much “normal” about it.

To begin, we are living on the other side of the world in a country which doesn’t celebrate Christmas. It is not at all cold outside, so it doesn’t feel like Christmas, and to top it all off. My husband had to fly back to the States for his mom’s funeral.

Today is Christmas Eve and to be honest, I have had a hard time getting motivated to do anything. Though I finished my shopping yesterday, getting the gifts wrapped was a chore.

For the kids it has been hard too. They miss their dad and in their minds, Christmas is supposed to be a certain way.

Just like I’m sure you do, we have certain traditions that we follow every year. No matter where we may live at the time.

And this year, though we are trying to keep to these traditions as best as possible, it just isn’t the same.

This morning after a meltdown with the kiddos, I shared with them, that I was sorry this wasn’t a perfect Christmas. I apologized that things hadn’t gone as we would have liked or even planned.

But as I have thought on this, I have been reminded that the first Christmas was far from perfect either. In fact it was pretty rough for Mary and Joseph.

Though Jesus could have been born in a palace, surrounded by the very best of everything. He was born in a stable, laid in a manger.

Though I’m sure Mary would have prefered a better place to give birth, all she had was a bed of straw.

As I have thought on this, I have been reminded that Christmas is not about tradition. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Christmas is indeed all about Jesus.

And though I wish things were different. It is still Christmas, with or without tradition.

Today, the kids and I delivered gifts to the children at Compassion house, and baked bread for the ladies. What a complete joy it was to watch as they opened and received these things.

This is what Christmas is all about… giving, just as God gave His only begotten son, so that one day He might die for our sins.

So though this will be the most unusual Christmas ever. Though it will be far from perfect.

I take comfort in the fact that, the first Christmas, was far from perfect either.

And yet it was because of this imperfect Christmas, that we have hope eternal today.

How about you? Are things rushed, are you feeling irritated that everything isn’t going your way.

Then I want to remind you as the Lord has reminded me…. this is not what Christmas is all about!

And I want to encourage you to let it go.

Let go of the idea of having everything perfect and settle for your own imperfect Christmas which is focused instead on Jesus.

2 thoughts on “One Imperfect Christmas

Leave a Reply

