Our Prince of Peace

christimas worldFor a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us; And the government will rest on His shoulders; And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace. There will be no end to the increase of His government or of peace. Isaiah 9:6-7

 

I still remember vividly the Christmas I spent in China. I was so excited. I had begun seminary that January, taken my first international mission trip in March, and now it was December and I was headed to China for three weeks.

Just as vividly as I remember being in China. I remember just as well telling my parents I would not be coming home that year because I would be on the other side of the world. Though they struggled, and were frightened, they handled it well.

I did not know any of the girls who would be on my team. We would meet once we arrived in Houston and fly the remainder of the flight together. But God knew just who would be on the team and how we would best work together.

When the plane landed in China, I was amazed. I remember getting out and standing on the ground thinking, wow I’m really in China. It was awesome. The sights, the smells, the bells, the whistles… lasted for about a week. Then reality set in.

Here we were in China, speaking in schools, teaching English and trying our best to share the gospel in a round about way. It was both exhilarating and scary.  See in China, it is illegal to proselytize and especially to those under the age of 18. Yet, here we were going into schools sharing  why we were spending our Christmas there with them and not at home with our families. We were sharing with them what Christmas was all about. As we rode in taxi’s around the city, we belted out Christmas carols and tried our best to tell everyone we met about Jesus.

Then one Sunday, we went to the government led church.  And God broke my heart. For though the people were here gathered together, there was no hope, no peace. In gov’t led churches, the pastor is told what they can preach about. They can preach about being good, living right, but are to just leave Jesus  out  of it.

Sitting in my room alone one night, I read this passage and my heart rejoiced.

Isaiah 9:6 says, “and the government will rest on His shoulders.”

And I thought to myself, one day. Though the Lord is certainly in control and all is in His hands. Right now, our countries and leaders do as they please. But one day, Jesus will return and all will finally be put in perfect order. No longer will there be communist governments. No longer will there be people telling others what they can and can’t believe. Who they can and can’t worship.

Today Jesus is certainly Lord, but on that day, Jesus will rule as Lord. And every nation and tongue on earth, under the earth and above the earth will confess He is Lord!

And He will rule as our Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father and Prince of Peace.

And indeed there will be no end to the increase of His government or of His perfect peace!!!

Leave a Reply

