Grace and Works

grace and worksI’m definitely a grace girl. I fall back upon and depend heavily upon the Lord’s amazing grace. Knowing that apart from such grace, I am nothing!

So thankful that the Lord Jesus is everything I am not, yet I am because of His blood!

Yet, I’m learning that one can lean too far to the grace side, easily forgetting the good works.

I am a definite believer in the truth that,It is by grace I have been said and that not of myself (Eph.2:8).

But I am also a firm believer in the fact that my “fruit” will reflect this grace upon my life.

As I was reading through the book of James in my quiet time, I came across verse after verse that insinuated that I was to be about “doing!”

James 4:7-10 says, “Submit yourselves then to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners and purify your hearts you double-minded. Grieve, mourn, and wail. Change your laughter to mourning and your joy to gloom. Humble yourselves before the Lord and he will lift you up.”

So often in my own life I am somewhat complacent. Expecting and wanting God to bring about great reform and change in my life, in the lives of others around me, in this country we are living in.

But as I read this today, I was struck by the fact that God doesn’t want us to just sit back and pray. He truly expects us to do something.

Do I really want to grow in my walk with the Lord, then I must submit to the Lord, resist the devil, come near to God and deal with sin. Throwing myself humbly at the feet of the Savior.

Do I want God to move and work in the lives of my family and friends, then they must see the hand of God vividly at work in my own life, as I model  good works, good attitudes, good behavior.

Do I really want to see the Lord change this country for His glory. Then I must daily be on my knees praying for Him to open the eyes of the people here. I must daily be about sharing Jesus and allowing the lost to see Christ living in me.

The Christian life is not a complacent one. It is not a pray a prayer thing and your done.

It is a day-to-day walk.

A day-to-day work for the Lord.

A daily surrender to His ways, and a death to one’s own ways.

James says, that “True religion is to look after the widows and the orphans.” 

He says, “friendship with the world is hatred toward God.”

James even says that “faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action is dead!”

Pretty strong words.

Yet, we do all of this not because we have to and not to somehow earn the favor of God.

We are to do this and more merely because we have the favor of God, through Christ.

I don’t know where you are, but my prayer is that God will somehow wake up His people (myself included) to be about more than head knowledge. And instead to allow our feet, our hands, our minds, our actions to do the talking.

But even deeper than this is one’s own personal walk with the Lord. Far too often we expect God to just change us, to grow us, to make us more like Him. We say a quick prayer for these things and we are done.

Then we become frustrated when we don’t see the evidence of this in our lives, growing frustrated with the Lord and even blaming Him when we fall.

When in reality God is waiting for us to get off our knees and do what He has said.

To become more like Christ, takes diligence, it takes action, it takes work.

The Lord will not just zap us. He is waiting to see if this is “really” what we desire.

“Let us then not merely be hearers of the Word….but doers of the Word.” James 2:22

Leave a Reply

