Do others see Jesus in you?

love“Now as they observed the confidence of Peter and John and understood that they were uneducated and untrained men, they were amazed and began to recognize them as having been with Jesus.” Acts 4:13

This verse always strikes a chord in my heart and I am left wondering if people recognize Jesus in my life.

The Bible tells us that, “they will know we are His disciples by our love.” John 13:35

Growing up, I can vividly remember sitting around the campfire at youth camp, singing “and they will know we are Christians by our love, by our love, yes they’ll know we are Christians by our love!”

The older I get, the more I realize just how true this is.

In I Cor. 13, we are told that if we speak with the tongues of angels, but have not love… we are nothing. If we have the gift of prophecy and know all the ministries and have all the knowledge of faith, but lack love. We are nothing. Even having the greatest faith possible, if it lacks love, we are nothing. Paul even goes to the extreme of saying that even if we lay down our lives for the Gospel, yet lack the love of God…WE ARE NOTHING!

This is pretty amazing when you think about it. For doing great things from God matters little without love. Knowing all the Scriptures and having great faith, mean nothing apart from love. Even dying a martyr matters little to God if it is done apart from love.

Yesterday as I sat in a Bible study, the lady leading spoke from I Cor. and as I read in the ESV version of the Bible, I was struck by the verses describing love. “It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful”I Cor 13:5

And to be honest my heart broke a little. For the Lord convicted me of the fact that so often my love for my children and even my husband comes across as irritable, and more than often wants its own way.

God spoke to my heart and said, “This is not my love.”

I’m learning that the true mark of a believer is not their head knowledge, not even their faith…it is their love.

It is shown when we love the hard to love. It is displayed when we pour out mercy on the undeserving.

The love of God is evident in our very lives when we are patient, kind, and humble. When we rejoice with the truth.

The unbelievers in Acts could see that Peter and John had been with Jesus. Sure, they saw their faith, they saw the miraculous signs, but I’m convinced they also saw their love.

In our day there is it seems an extreme. Some who are all about love, but lack truth. Or vice versa, they are all about truth but lack love.

Neither is good, neither is right. The two must go hand in hand.

We must stand on the truth of God, but we must do it in love.

The lost are just that, lost. They are spiritually blinded. We can beat them over the head with rules and laws. We can try in ourselves to convince them, but this will not lead them to Jesus.

We must live our daily lives as living examples of the love of Christ.

Our actions speak much louder than our words do.

Let us then show them the love of Jesus, while we teach them the truth.

 

Leave a Reply

