Get up and PRAY!!

prayerYou will be happy to know that the Lord woke me up early today. Though tempted to role over, I forced myself out of the bed, that I might spend time with the Lord while the house was quiet. And you know what, the peace, joy, strength of the Lord have been evident in my day. As the Lord has poured out His amazing grace. But ironically, this morning as I sat down to read, I came upon this verse. “Why are you sleeping?” he asked them. “Get up and pray so that you will not fall into temptation.” Luke 22:46 Jesus had asked the disciples to “watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.” Mark 14:38 Yet after Jesus went up to pray, He returned only to find the disciples sleeping. And He tells them to get up and pray! I read this early this morning and laughed out loud. For the Lord certainly had my attention. Saying to me, Yes, study My Word, meditate on the Scriptures, but also pray! Each day is filled with temptations. They begin in my home the moment my alarm goes off, and especially once the children are up. I’m tempted to hit snooze on my alarm and stay in bed rather than spend time in God’s Word. I’m tempted to give into frustrations as I get breakfast cooked and the kids ready for school. Tempted to lose my temper when “life” happens throughout the day. Tempted to give into my flesh instead of allowing the Spirit to control and lead. Every day we will face temptations and the Lord is showing me that apart from prayer, I will fall. I will give into my flesh, I will give into the moments frustrations. Yet, when I take the time to pray. Take the time to surrender my day to the Lord. Though the temptations will certainly come. the Lord can and will give me the grace to yield not to the flesh, but to His Spirit. It is key to remember that Jesus didn’t say, Get up and pray so that no temptations will not come. He said, Get up and pray, so that you will not fall into temptation. How important it is that though we may be busy, though it may not seem we have the time. That we make the time to not only study the Word, but to pray unto the Lord. This prayer is our command. This prayer is our worship to the Lord. This prayer our coming unto the Lord in humility demonstrating our great need of Him. Many wonder why pray? God already knows. But we pray not to change God’s mind. We pray so that He can and will change us. So, I challenge you as the Lord has challenged me…..Get up my friend and pray! And watch as the Lord pours out His abundant mercy and grace upon your day!

Leave a Reply

