To the Perfectionist

pefectionistI have known many a perfectionist in my life. In fact I married one.

One of my closest friends growing up was one, and I can sometimes be one myself.

You know what I mean, those who want everything just right. Always wanting the perfect score on the test.

When Eric and I first married and painted our first room together, I thought for sure it was over.

He wanted it just right, and I just wanted it to be finished. A clash for sure.

But to be honest, I am a perfectionist as well when it comes to cleaning and wanting the kitchen and house to look just so.

We all have our areas of “perfection.”

This morning, I came across a verse that seems to be impossible in my Bible reading.

In fact I gave it to my children as a trivia challenge.

The verse says, “Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” Mathew 5:48

I asked my boys if this was possible and they said no.

But, I told them it is a command. Why then would God tell us to do something that is not possible.

The same is true for the verse that says, “Be holy because I am holy.” I Peter 1:16

Now, to the perfectionist, this causes a rub.

But not just to the perfectionist, to all of us.

How can we be perfect and holy as God is perfect and holy?

And if it isn’t possible, why are we commanded to do so.

It’s like telling your kid to go paint a masterpiece, but failing to give them any paint, colors or canvas.

For we are told to do that which we can not do.

But GRACE…..

See God knew we could never be perfect, He knew we could never be holy.

So He sent Jesus.

For through Him and through His blood, we are made righteous.

In Christ, we are holy.

In Christ, we are perfect.

In Christ we lack nothing!!!!

Apart from Jesus, this command is not possible, but because of Jesus, it is entirely possible.

So to the perfectionist, the one who always wants everything to be “just so.”

Take heart, for in Christ you are perfect!

Oh the Gospel is so much more than salvation.

The Gospel of Jesus, is how we live the day-to-day Christian life.

By grace through faith.

Believing that we are who God says we are.

Does this mean we will actually be perfect, without ever sinning?

Absolutely not. We will fail, and we should definitely strive to live a life pleasing to God.

But at the end of the day, when God looks at us.

He see’s not all our faults.

And when we stand before Him on that day.

He will see us robed in righteousness, covered by the blood.

Pure, perfect, spotless and holy!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

