What to do when your discouraged

discouragedSince our move to the other side of the world, there have been the good days and the not so good days.

There have been days when things have gone right and other days when nothing has gone right.

Included have been days when I have felt discouraged and wondered if it was worth it.

BUT GOD…

God always has a way of speaking to my heart just what I need to hear.

Last night I was reading in the Ezra.  The people are rebuilding the temple. Things seem to be going well, but then some naysayers come along and they “set out to discourage the people of Judah and make them afraid to go on building. (Ezra 4:4) In fact the Bible goes on to say that they hired people to work against them and to mess up the plans and work they were doing. And the sad thing is that the Bible says, “Thus the work on the house of God in Jerusalem came to a standstill (Ezra 4:24)

The naysayers won, they set out to discourage the people, to make them afraid and ultimately to make them quit the work. And that is exactly what happened.

As I read this, I thought isn’t that just like the enemy.

He sets out to discourage God’s servants. Filling our minds with lies, doubt, and fear. And all along, his greatest desire is to get us to quit on God.

How often I fall into this trap. Allowing my emotions to rule.

BUT GOD…

God wasn’t done, He also had a word to say.

For we find out in Haggai 2, that God’s plan for the temple was its completion.

His message to the people was, “Be strong, all you people of the land, declares the Lord, and work. For I am with you, declares the Lord Almighty…… Do not fear! (Haggai 2:4-5)

And the Lord spoke to my heart, saying, “Be strong, do what I have called you to and don’t be afraid, because I am with you!”

We must listen not to the enemy’s lies, but to the voice of truth.

Satan says quit. Satan discourages and lies. He fills our hearts with fear and makes us want to give up.

But God says,

BE STRONG, DO THE WORK I HAVE CALLED YOU TO, DO NOT BE AFRAID, FOR I AM WITH YOU!!

Where are you today? Are you being led by emotions or by the Spirit?

Are you discouraged with where God has you, do you want to quit?

I encourage you to dig deep into the Word of God and allow Him to speak to you.

I admonish you to listen as He says, be strong and fear not.

For He is with you, just as He is with me.

Leave a Reply

