When saying yes to God, hurts

thU1VP13SBOur family has said yes to God.

We have said, we will follow you wherever, you lead.

We have prayed to the Lord of the Harvest and asked Him to send us out.

And, He has said, go, I’m sending you to Nepal.

We are thrilled and can’t wait to get busy with the work He has planned for us.

But, we are also hurting.

Because though this is what we have prayed for and dreamed of doing.

It is still painful to leave our family, friends and church.

Hard to sell your things, and live out of suitcases.

So, what do you do, when saying yes to God, is painful??

The Lord is teaching me, that when it hurts, I must run to Him.

I must rely not upon myself, but fully upon Him.

I have to allow the Lord to be my strength.

Denying myself and what my fleshly body wants.

Remembering why we go, and the needs of those we go to serve.

I must take my eyes off of me, and focus my eyes completely upon the Lord.

Saying yes to God wasn’t easy for Moses, the people didn’t like Him, and blamed Him for their problems.

Saying yes to God wasn’t easy for Isaiah, who shared God’s message with people who didn’t want to hear.

And saying yes to God wasn’t easy for Christ, but He laid down His life, setting an example for us to follow.

So when saying yes to God, hurts…

Because sometimes it will, and sometimes it won’t be easy.

Remember that the Great I Am is with you.

He will never leave or forsake you.

He is enough. He is all you need.

And when the pain overwhelms, cry out to Him, pouring out your heart before the Lord.

For He will hear your humble cry and will fill your mind, and heart with His perfect peace.

His grace is sufficient for whatever task He places before you.

Jesus said, “If anyone comes after me, he must give up everything.” He must hate his mother, sister, brother, even his own life.”

This is hard, this hurts.

This leads many to say no or to run from God’s call.

But these also miss out on seeing and experiencing the greatness of God, and the plans He has for them.

So I encourage you to say yes to God, even when it hurts.

Even when the pain overwhelms.

Even when you really want to say no.

Because He will take your yes and will do far more than you could ever ask or imagine.

For His word says, “For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him (2 Chron. 16:9).”

Leave a Reply

