Excuses………

I’m good at making excuses for why I can’t.excuses

Have a tendency to give up on things that are too hard.

So, I can identify fully with Moses and Jeremiah when God came calling on their lives.

Though minding their own business, God came along and rocked their world.

Appearing in a burning bush to Moses, God told Moses that he was God’s chosen servant to stand before Pharoah, and to lead the people into the promised land.

Moses of course didn’t agree at all.

In fact he had other ideas and was quick to offer excuses for why he could not do this.

Likewise, Jeremiah’s life was interrupted.

For the Lord came to him and said, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations (Jeremiah 1:5).”

But Jeremiah like Moses, wasn’t too excited about this special call.

For he too began making excuses.

But if we are honest aren’t we all like this.

Quick to make excuses when what God calls us to is scary or it just seems to hard.

God has called our family to the mission field, and we have said yes to God.

But that doesn’t make it less scary or less hard.

In my mind I have countless conversations with the Lord on why we aren’t the right people.

Why we can’t do this. Why this is too much and too hard.

Fears that rattle me and anguish thinking about goodbye.

But then I remember the Lord’s response to Jeremiah.

For he said, “You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid….(Jer. 1:6).”

Tonight someone asked me, “Why Nepal?”

And my response was, because God said, go here.

I told the man, it was definitely not a place I would have chosen on my own.

But God, said this is it. This is where I’m sending you.

I told him, so after kicking and screaming a bit, we have resolved to go.

But the truth is, even after being resolved to go, I still want to kick and scream a little.

I want to complain, I want to make excuses.

Because leaving my family is going to be hard.

Taking our kids to a whole other world is going to be hard.

Adjusting to a radically different culture is going to be hard.

But, God never said it would be easy.

He just says, Follow Me.

And in following Christ, we are to deny ourselves, take up our cross and follow Him.

So, after I shed some tears, repent, pray and remind myself of the promises of God.

I can take a deep breath and say, ok Lord. I’m in.

What has God called you to? Have you said yes or are you making excuses? Are you resisting His call or surrendering to it? Following Christ isn’t always easy. Some times it’s hard. Sometimes it hurts.

But, God is there with us and he says, Do not fear, I am with you!

 

Leave a Reply

