When God Rocks Your World

forever changedI love the story of Manasseh. He was a wicked, evil King changed forever by the grace of God.

If anyone thinks they have done too much bad stuff, I’m sure Manasseh has you beat.

Manasseh walked in the ways of the nations God had driven out. He worshiped the Baals and made Asherah poles. He bowed down to the stars and worshiped them. He even sacrificed his sons in the fire. Manasseh practiced sorcery, witchcraft and all sorts of evil. The Bible says he did much evil in the eyes of the Lord, provoking him to anger! Because of Manasseh, the people did more evil than the nations the Lord had destroyed before the Israelites!

I’m telling you he was vile. He had no desire for God.

But God rocked his world.

In His mercy, God brought disaster upon Jerusalem and Judah. The Lord allowed the King of Assyria to take Manasseh prisoner and they put a hook in his nose and placed him in shackles carrying him off to Babylon.

Then, in his distress, Manasseh sought the Lord.

And amazingly enough, God heard his cry and because Manasseh humbled himself greatly before the Lord, the Lord was moved by his prayer.

Talk about grace, undeserved, unmerited favor!

The Bible tells us that the Lord brought him back to Jerusalem and restored his kingdom.

Then, Manasseh knew that the Lord is God (2 Chron. 33:13)

A work of God by the grace of God.

I can remember well when God rocked my world.

I had grown up in church and never practiced witchcraft or done any of the outright evils like Manasseh.

But I was far from God and had just as wicked a heart.

I lived for myself and strived to make myself happy.

I went to church and did most of the right things. Not because I loved God, but because it was expected.

Then in college the Lord got hold of my life for real and it has never been the same.

To many I went a bit extreme. Giving up what I intended to do with my life.

My life was surrendered to the Lord and off to seminary I went.

Life no longer was about me and my happiness.

It became about a desire to please Him.

Like Manasseh, I knew that the Lord is God.

A work of God by the grace of God.

How about you? Has God rocked your world? Has your life been forever changed?

Oh, we won’t be perfect, far from it, this side of Heaven, but our desire should be for Him and His glory.

Lord, may we never lose sight of your amazing grace. Though vile and wicked, we have been forgiven and changed. Transferred out of the kingdom of darkness into the kingdom of light. May we live our lives thankful daily for all You have done.

One thought on “When God Rocks Your World

  1. Pingback: Excuses……… | mandylynncarpenter

Leave a Reply

