Glimpses of His Glory

We sing it, we pray it.

We all want to see the glory of God.

We want to see it in our churches and in our own lives.

But do we really? I’m convinced that when we see even a glimpse of His glory, we will never be the same

In Isaiah 6, Isaiah caught a glimpse of God’s glory and was broken.

“I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphs, each with six wings. With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another: Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.”

Isaiah saw the Lord in all of his glory as the angels covered their faces, their feet and cried Holy, holy, holy.

Woe to me! I cried. I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips and I live among a people of unclean lips.”

After seeing a glimpse of His glory, Isaiah was undone. Falling before the Lord, crying out to Him.

When we see the glory of God, we like Isaiah become aware of our sinfulness and His holiness. We are broken over our sin and fall before the throne of grace.

In order to see glimpses of glory, we must deal with sin!

“Then one of the seraphs flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, See, this has touched your lips, your guild is taken away and your sin atoned for.”

To see God’s glory, we too will see His grace!

As Isaiah is humbled before the Lord, deals with and confesses his sin, his sin is forgiven and he catches a glimpse of God’s grace.

The two go hand in hand. For the Lord is holy and we are sinful. To see His glory, we first must experience His grace.

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, Whom shall I send? And who will go for us? And I said, Here am I send me!

After catching a glimpse of the Lord’s glory, being overwhelmed by His amazing grace. Isaiah is ready and willing to do whatever the Lord ask. So when he hears the voice of the Lord, his only response was…. Here I am, send me!

I’m convinced that when we experience God’s glory and His grace, it will move us to say yes to God and whatever He ask of us.

When we become aware of our sinfulness and our forgiveness because of the cross, we will want to say yes to God.

“He said, Go and tell this people….”

But, be ready, for when you say yes to God and surrender to what He has…. He will lead, He will guide and He will direct your steps. But praise God, no matter where He sends, no matter what He ask.

He is with you and will go before you, with you and behind you. Never leaving nor forsaking you.

Oh to see the glory of God.

When we catch even a glimpse, our lives are not be the same!

 

holy holy holy

Leave a Reply

