The Calling of Amos

“I was neither a prophet nor a prophet’s son, but I was a shepherd and I also took care of Sycamore-fig trees, but the Lord took me from tending the flock and said to me, “Go, prophesy to my people Israel.” Amos 7:14

I love, love , love this.

Why you might ask?

Because here we find the calling of Amos to be God’s chosen instrument.

Who was Amos?

Amos, was not a prophet or a preacher.

He wasn’t even the son of a prophet or a preacher.

Amos was just a shepherd boy, like David.

The least of these, we might say.

Yet, here we find that God came calling on him one day.

Telling him, to Go and prophesy to His people, Israel.

Many people think that in order to be used of God, they must be a preacher, missionary or what not.

Or they believe the lie that God could never use them, that they are somehow not good enough.

Which is why I love this story.

Amos may have thought the same.

But God…..

God isn’t concerned about one’s abilities or talents.

He is most interested in one’s availability and obedience.

If He can use a donkey to speak and He did.

He can use anyone willing to surrender to Him.

I have always heard it said, that “God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called.”

How thankful I am for this.

How thankful I am that God has chosen to call our family to serve Him in the Himalayas.

And I’m here to tell you that it isn’t because we are anyone special.

Nor because we are super spiritual.

He hasn’t called us because of who we are.

He has said Go, and we have said yes, because of who He is!

What is God calling you today?

I encourage you to say yes. You might not feel qualified, don’t worry, He will qualify you.

You might not think you can do it, but God can and will do it through you if you obey.

Whatever He has asked of you, He will equip you for.

God used Amos a shepherd boy and He can and will use you and me.

As we say yes and surrender to His call!

Leave a Reply

