When Your Strength Is Gone….

God's strengthI’ve been reminded lately of a song by Steven Curtis Chapman. The song says, “His strength is perfect, when our strength is gone, He’ll carry us, when we can’t carry on.”

I’ve also experienced this in my own life. The other day a friend and I joined together to fast and pray for the day.  As I fasted and was met with the occasional hunger pain, I was reminded that the Lord is my strength. I was reminded that He is my source of everything good. I was reminded that He is enough.

There are some days when the business of life and what God has called our family to do seems overwhelming. Days when I find it hard to breathe. When the stress is over the top.

But it is also on these days that I’m reminded that my God is bigger than all of this. One of my favorite verses says, “When I am overwhelmed, lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.”

Life can be overwhelming at times, but God is greater.

Problems can seem bigger than life, but God is bigger.

The Lord is teaching me to pray. To pray for His favor with God and man. To pray that the Lord would grant us success on every side. To pray that just as He was with David, He would be with us.

As I pray these things and more, I realize that this life is so much bigger than me. I begin to comprehend that God is up to something so much more.

And as I lean into Him and rely upon Him, though I may think I can’t do it, I can. Because when my strength is gone, His is sufficient.

The Lord doesn’t need my strength. He doesn’t need for me to be strong. In fact, He’d rather I be weak. For when I am weak, then He is strong.

 

 

Leave a Reply

