Beautiful Robes

beautiful robesWho doesn’t like something beautiful?

I bought a blue, silk robe while I was in China once and my little girl loves it. She wishes it would fit her. One day soon, I’m sure.

In the Bible, Jacob made a beautiful robe/coat of many colors for his beloved son, Joseph.

This was made out of love for his golden boy and the others did not like it.

I’m sure I wouldn’t have either.

One of my favorite verses comes from Isaiah 61:10, it says

I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

The great thing about this robe is it’s not meant for just one.

It is available to any and all who believe and trust in Christ.

This robe is a free gift and there is nothing we can do to earn it.

For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; 9not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.… Ephesians 2:8-9

God clothes us with salvation, that is found only in Christ.

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved. Acts 4:12

And this robe is so much better than the robe of many colors.

For it is a robe of righteousness.

Clothed in it, no longer does the Father see our sin.

He see’s the righteousness of Jesus.

And claims us as His own.

What a beautiful gift.

How beautiful we are in His eyes.

Our hearts should indeed rejoice in God as we take great delight in Him.

Leave a Reply

