Pounding out Frustration

th9TFDKZUQIt had been a rough day and I needed to let go of some frustration.

I made my way outside and put my feet to work pounding the ground as I walked the circle in front of my parents house.

My heart was in anguish wondering what in the world the Lord was doing in our lives.

Would the waiting and suffering ever end?

Reminded of my daughters prayers, I began to pray and thank the Lord for what He is doing and the plans He does have for us.

I began to thank Him for His grace and strength that has carried us through. I thanked Him for the place He has prepared for us and the ways He is and will use us.

How quick my attitude changed as I gave thanks.

Taking a break from walking, I sat on the bridge overlooking my parents pond.

As I sat there, the wind blew across my face and the sun shone down and the Lord whispered, just as you can’t see the wind, you can’t see me. Yet, I am with you. You are not alone.

As I looked into the dark, murky waters of the pond, not at all able to see the bottom. The Lord said, just as you can’t see the bottom, but you know it is there. In the same way, you can’t see the end of this situation, but I see it and know it well. There is an end in sight, just hold on.

I listened as the birds echoed their voices together in song. I heard a loud chirp and began looking for the bird. Amazed I saw a tiny bird singing in the trees. And the Lord reminded me that just as He cares for the birds of the air, He has and will continue to care for me.

Looking around I saw the blue skies, the green trees and the beauty of creation. Then God spoke clearly and said, it was Me who made all of this out of nothing. I am still God and still in control. I hold the world in my hands and all have their being because of me.  Nothing is too hard for me.

As I sat listening, feeling, hearing and looking I was reminded of the greatness of my God.

Taking a deep breath, I realized that I have way more to be thankful for than to complain about.

Life can be hard, and some days are worse than others.

But if we’d just stop, we’d see the fingerprints of God all around us.

 

Leave a Reply

