Lauren’s Prayers

IMG_0432I love to hear Lauren pray.

Not just because she is my daughter, but because I could learn a thing or two from her.

When Lauren prays she prays things like, “Thank you, God,  for the dog and the room with a door.”

Not that she has either of these presently.

But when she prays, she goes ahead and thanks God in advance for what she’s asking for.

I believe this is the type of prayer that pleases God.

One of momentous childlike faith.

Lauren knows God can answer and expects Him to do so.

It is never a matter of if with her, but only a matter of when.

I’m learning that to pray in faith is to pray in expectation.

The psalmist said, “In the morning, LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly (5:3).”

Prayer also takes diligence and persistence.

When Daniel needed wisdom to know how to interpret the King, he asked for time to pray and gathered his friends to pray with him.

When Jesus spoke the parable about the widow who came to the judge. He said, “that they should always pray and not give up (18:1).”

Prayer is an area I can definitely grow in.

The Lord is teaching me that it takes, faith, diligence and persistence to truly grow in my prayer life.

Let us then be like little children coming before God in faith and waiting in expectation for what He can and will do. Not giving up when the answer doesn’t come quickly and sharing our needs and request with others who too will pray.

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need (Hebrews 4:16).”

Leave a Reply

