Overwhelmed By His Love

th (3)My children have a natural inclination to whine when they don’t get their way.

I have a natural inclination to grumble and complain.

But God….

At the end of Deuteronomy God says, “I know what they are disposed to do, even before I bring them into the land I promised them as an oath (Deut. 31:21).”

After 40 years of wandering, it is finally time to enter into the promised land.

For 40 years they have watched the Lord provide for them and meet their needs. Neither their shoes nor clothes have worn out

And finally, the time is drawing near.

I’m sure they were excited, they couldn’t wait.

Moses repeatedly warns them of God’s blessings and curses.

Blessings if they follow God, love Him, serve Him, and obey Him.

Curses if they do not.

In their heart of hearts they were determined to follow God, to love, serve, and obey Him.

But God knew their hearts.

He knew what they were disposed to do. He knew that once in the land flowing with milk and honey, where no longer are they desperate for Him.

That they would fall away, they would turn to other gods.

But God….

Though God knew what they were inclined to do, He still allowed them to enter the promised land.

Though the Lord grasped fully their tendancies toward sin, He chose to bless them.

For He is a gracious, loving and faithful God!

And the same is true today.

Though my natural tendancy is to walk in the flesh.

Though my natural inclination is to sin.

And daily I fail to fully love, serve and obey the Lord.

He loves me anyway.

He chooses to bless me.

He is faithful even when I prove unfaithful.

As I think on this my heart is overwhelmed with His great love.

He wants us to grasp this.

God wants you to know that He loves you.

The Lord desires for you to attempt to fathom His amazing love, that is higher than the heavens.

For as we begin to understand the Father’s great love, and our own sinfulness.

Then and only then, will we begin to grow in our love for Him.

And as our love grows, so will our service and obedience.

Leave a Reply

