Mastered by Nothing

thHBWB3VTPWhat masters you? Anything?

Do your emotions control you, does food control you, money, work, hobbies, sports….

What masters you? Anyone?

Does your family, your children, your spouse, your boss…..

In First Corinthians, Paul makes a striking comment.

He says, “Everything is permissible for me, but not everything is beneficial)Everything is permissible for me…..BUT I WILL NOT BE MASTERED BY ANYTHING.

Every time I read this verse, I wonder in my heart, what masters/what controls me?

What consumes my thoughts, my day, my life?

For me so often I am mastered by my emotions, by how I feel.

This is all good when I’m feeling great, but stinks when I’m feeling bad.

This is great when I’m thinking on truth, but horrible when I’m believing lies.

For some of you, it may be food that masters you. Your day revolving around your next meal.

For others, it could be your job, your family, or even your children.

Yet, I don’t believe God ever intended that we be mastered or controlled by anything.

He is to be our focus, our vision.

Oh, how short we fall.

Paul understood this, he got it.

He knew that in Christ, he could do anything, he could go anywhere, be anyone.

But, he did not take this freedom lightly.

Instead he determined that despite the freedom, he wouldn’t be mastered by anything.

He would be consumed with living for Christ.

Nothing that masters us is good, nothing that masters us help us.

Instead these things bind us.

It is time we let them go and embrace the freedom we have in Christ.

It is time we allow God to master us.

It is time we surrender all to Him.

Let us then not be controlled by anything, other than the Lord.

Leave a Reply

