Knowing God’s Will

thUUKUH8UHIt’s an age-old question.

One every follower of Christ ask at some point.

A question our family has been asking for quite some time now.

What is God’s will for my life.”

What does the Lord want?

As I was listening to my husband pray yesterday he said something that made it all click.

He said, Lord, I want to know your will, but what I want more is to KNOW YOU.”

I thought on this all day and realized so often we miss it.

It isn’t so much about finding God’s will or knowing His will for our lives.

It’s all about knowing HIM.

The Lord spoke to my heart and said, this is it.

Know Me, walk with Me, live for Me and as you do I will make known to you the plans I have for you.

As I was reading my Bible last night, I came across some verses that added to this.

In I Corinthians 1 Paul says, “no one knows the thoughts of God, but the Spirit of God…..We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us.”

I Cor. 2:16, “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him? BUT WE HAVE THE MIND OF CHRIST.”

And the Lord spoke to my heart. He said, if you want to know my will, Know Me. If you want to know my will, Be filled with the Spirit and walk in step with Him. If you want to know my will, have the mind of Christ.

If you do these things, you will know my will and won’t miss out on what I am doing.

So simple, yet so profound.

I believe so often we miss it, because we are so busy trying to figure it out. We are so busy seeking the wisdom of the world. Thinking on the lies of this world.

But if we’d just seek to know God, really know Him. If we’d daily, moment by moment be filled with and walk in the Spirit, we will have the mind of Christ and we will think right and we will know God’s good and perfect will.

Oh, this is my desire.

“Give me one pure and holy passion, give me one magnificent obsession. Give me one glorious ambition for my life, TO KNOW AND FOLLOW HARD AFTER YOU.” To know and follow hard after you, to grow as your disciple in your truth. For the world is empty, pale and worn, compared to KNOWING You, My Lord. Lead me on and I will run after you.”

Leave a Reply

