I Need You More……

thCQYDCVE8In my college days, I learned a song that has been stuck in my head all week.

Entitled, “I need you more.”

Some of the lyrics are: I need You more than food to eat. I need You more than water to drink. I need You more than the night to sleep. I need You more than the air I breathe. Become my food. Become my drink. My night my air. My everything. Consume me, Consume me, Lord. I need you more.

Over and over this has been on my heart and on my lips.

But it has also been convicting.

For I find myself asking myself, do I really?

Do I really need the Lord more than food, more than water, more than sleep, more than air.

Do I really need Him more than social media, television, and entertainment?

Do I really need Him more than anything else?

I suppose if you asked the average Christian, Do you need the Lord more than anything else. Their reply would be yes.

But I wonder would their lives match up.

What we spend our time one, what consumes our thoughts, what we spend our money on, what we do and don’t do will declare how much we really need God.

I challenge you as the Lord has challenged me, to give up one or more of the things that consume your time and energy for a week. Instead of spending your time on it, spend it in God’s Word and prayer. Fast for a few days and when the hunger pains rise, pray I need you more.

See it is easy to say we need God, but our actions will show if this is true or not.

My prayer is that the Lord would consume me, that I would need Him more than anything else. That He would fan the flame within my heart and fill me with a passion for Him.

That I would need Him more!

 

One thought on “I Need You More……

  1. Pingback: What are you hungry for??? | mandylynncarpenter

Leave a Reply

