Where do you go for help?

th4N0HWF7MI have always been very independent.

Wanting to do things by myself and hating to ask anyone for help.

I’ve seen this same attitude in my daughter.

A shear determination to do things on her own.

In the eyes of the world, this is a good character trait.

But in the eyes of God, it is sin, simply put, its pride.

Pride that says, “I don’t need anyone or anything.”

Pride that says, “I am dependent on no one.”

In our world, needing the help of others shows weakness.

In our world, depending on others is wrong.

But this vastly contradicts God’s Word and the way in which He has made us.

He has not made us to be islands, but to need Him ultimately and others.

The Bible says, “God resist the proud, but gives grace to the humble (James 4:6).

The humble one, knows they need God.

The humble one, understands that their help comes from the Lord.

The humble one doesn’t try to do it themselves, but is desperate for God to do what only He can do.

The proud one says, “I have it all together.”

The humble one says, “without God, I am a wreck.”

As I was reading the Psalms today, I read Psalm 121, which says,

“I will lift up my eyes to the mountains, from where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth (Psalm 121:1).”

So often I am consumed with doing. Consumed with trying to figure things out on my own.

Lately, the Lord seems to constantly remind me that “He is God” and I am not.

When my heart grows anxious, I hear Him whisper, “Cease striving and know I am God (Psalm 46:10) .”

Letting go of my pride that says I must figure things out.

I fall into His arms and cry out to Him for the help only He can supply.

Just as a newborn baby is utterly dependent upon their parents, God longs for us to depend as completely upon Him.

But in order to do this, we must let go of the pride and confess it as sin.

And come humbly before the God of the Universe and look to Him for our help.

Which one best describes you??

Let us be like ones described in Psalm 123:1-2

To You I lift up my eyes;

O You who are enthroned in the heavens.

Behold as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their master,

As the eyes of a maid to the hand of her mistress,

So our eyes look to the Lord our God

Leave a Reply

