How I think affects how I live

whatever is true“For as a man thinketh, so is he.” Pr. 23:7

I’m learning just how true this is.

I’m learning that how I think and what I allow my mind to dwell upon.

Will affect how I act, how I live, how I feel, what I say and what I do.

There are days when my mind is focused on the greatness of God.

When I am overwhelmed by His grace and love for me.

On these days, I have no trouble trusting Him, believing Him, giving thanks and praise to Him.

But, then there are days when my mind is focused upon myself and my problems.

When I am so overwhelmed by “life”, that I can hardly breathe.

On these days, My heart is in anguish. I can’t seem to trust or believe God.

And instead of giving the Lord praise, all I do is grumble and complain.

The apostle Paul understood this cause/affect relationship.

Which is why he tells us that, “we are to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ (2 Cor. 10:5).”

Paul goes so far as to even tell us what we should think upon.

He says, “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things (Phil. 4:8).”

Yet, here is the hard part. (At least for me.)

How to think on truth when life overwhelms?

How to take every thought captive, when untruths consumes my minds?

The only way I have found to do this.

Is through prayer.

Laying myself prostrate before God and just crying out to Him.

I may have to do this once a day or twenty times a day.

The goal however, is to think on truth. To stand on truth and to walk in truth.

Another important thing to do, is to fill my mind with truth, through the study and meditation of Scripture.

I must daily remind myself who God is and Preach the Gospel to Myself.

Reminding myself as I pray who I speak to, who I serve and who is in control.

It is a battle indeed. A battle between the flesh and the Spirit.

A battle between a joyful life and a defeated life.

I don’t know about you, but I want the joyful life.

Therefore, I must diligently fill my mind with truth.

Leave a Reply

