Preaching the Gospel to Myself

the-GospelJust to set things straight, my husband is the preacher not me.

But there are some days, hard, dark days when I must preach the Gospel to myself.

Days when “life” is too much and the “pit” calls out.

Times when I don’t feel I can possibly go on.

On these days, I must preach to myself.

There are days when it feels no one cares and I’m left wondering where God is?

Days when it feels we have been forsaken, and forgotten.

These are the days when I preach the Gospel to myself.

Because on days like these, I must remember WHO God is and what JESUS has done.

On days like this, I must remind myself that He is enough (2 Cor. 12:9).

He cares (1 Peter 5:7). He has inscribed me on the palms of His hands (Is. 49:16).

His thoughts for me outnumber the sands on the seashore (Ps. 139:18).

He demonstrated His great love at Calvary (Rom. 5:8).

He is on His throne (Ps. 47:8). And He is all-powerful.

Yea, on these days I have to remember the Gospel, That Jesus came, lived and died in my place.

That I might have the abundant life (John 10:10).

I have to meditate on my purpose in life.

That my purpose is not to be happy, healthy and wealthy.

My purpose is  glorify God in whatever I do (I Cor. 10:31).

So on the bad days, days when life is just hard.

Maybe like me, you need to preach the Gospel to yourself.

Because the Gospel is so much more than accepting Jesus.

The Gospel is how we live each day.

2 thoughts on “Preaching the Gospel to Myself

  1. Those dark days are when I find myself leaning on that verse from Romans that tells us that even when we don’t know what to pray, the Holy Spirit intercedes for us with groans too deep for words to express. Thanks for this encouraging post.

  2. Pingback: How I think affects how I live | mandylynncarpenter

Leave a Reply

