Giving Them Grace

grace1Do you ever wish you could take your words back?

Ever wish you could respond differently?

Today was one of those days.

Day’s I messed up and failed miserably with my kids.

Instead of being kind, gentle, patient, compassionate, loving in how I responded.

I was the opposite.

As I running some errands this afternoon, I cried out to God.

I told Him it would be better some days if I were mute or if I could just cut out my tongue.

I admitted to Him how I had failed and how desperate I was for Him.

I begged Him to change me and make me like Christ.

Because I can’t be nicer or a better mom on my own.

He has to do it, in and through me.

Often my kids tell me they can’t do this, they can’t do that.

I use to always tell them, yes you can. You can do anything in Christ.

But the truth is, they are right!

They can’t think of others more than themselves.

They can’t love their siblings.

They can’t do to others as they want others to do to them.

They can’t! We can’t!

But CHRIST CAN!

O if I could ever grasp that I can’t do it, I can’t be better…..

If I could ever grasp that He already has done it and walk in this reality.

What our kids need to hear is that they are correct, they can’t.

But Jesus can in and through them.

“O taste and see that the Lord is good. Blessed is the one who takes refuge in him!” Ps. 34:8

I don’t know about you, but I need grace every day.

Our kids need grace too.

May we as parents use every opportunity given to point our kids to Christ. To the work He has accomplished. To the fact that only in Him and by His Grace can we love, serve and honor God.

Let’s give them what we can’t.

Let’s give them Jesus!

The law says, “do this,” and it is never done. Grace says, “believe in this,” and everything is already done.” – Martin Luther

Leave a Reply

