Pretty Curtains

pretty curtainsDo you know what I want some days.

I want “normal.”

You know a husband who works 9-5 each day.

Children who go to school every morning.

I want a cute little house with pretty curtains in every window.

I want safety, comfort, and security from the whirlwind of my life.

I want to wake up and see the sun shining through my windows.

For my oldest to have his own room and my youngest to get that room with a door.

I just want to live.

Then the Lord reminds me of the life of Christ.

Jesus was born in a borrowed stable and was buried in a borrowed tomb.

Jesus had no place to lay his head.

He lived to serve and served to live.

He had resolved to do the work of His Father, despite how painful it was at times.

Jesus lived to glorify the Father and to fulfill His mission.

Jesus was fully God, yet fully human.

He knew what it was like to be lonely.

He knew what it was like to just want to belong.

Jesus knew sadness, hurt, and anger.

Jesus was misunderstood from birth.

He was mocked, mistreated and made fun of.

I remember Christ who came and gave His all.

I remember His sacrifice and the grace He has shown me.

That He opened my eyes to Him.

Then He reminds me of the millions who have never heard of Jesus.

My heart grieves for these and no longer does normal seem good.

No longer do the pretty curtains seem to matter.

Again, I feel compelled to go and resolve to trust my God.

No, in light of eternity and the fact that we only get one life, one chance to make our lives count.

Pretty curtains aren’t so important.

Leave a Reply

