Living a life in view of eternity…

New Years EveBehold I am coming soon! My reward is with me and I will give to everyone according to what he has done.” Revelation 21:12

I woke up this morning a bit depressed. Thinking about the fact that 2013 is coming to a close and a New Year is on the horizon.

As I thought back over the past year, I wondered at what was accomplished.

Most of our year was spent waiting on the Lord. Praying for an open door and asking God to show us what He wanted for our family.

Now as the year ends, we are still in the same boat. Still waiting, still praying, still asking.

Our yes is on the table and we have surrendered to whatever He wants.

But this doesn’t change the fact that our New Year will begin the same as last year.

Maybe you woke up feeling like me. A little depressed as you looked over your last year, not seeing a whole lot accomplished.

Can I encourage you as the Lord encouraged me?

As I read His Word this morning and listened to a sermon, I was reminded that this past year was merely a drop in the bucket in light of eternity.

I was encouraged that He has used this past year to shape, mold and make me more like Christ.

He brought joy to my heart as I finished the book of Revelation and was reminded that He wins!

I was reminded that He is coming soon and one day all the pain, sorrow and problems of this life will be over.

The Lord challenged me with His Words, “Behold I am coming soon.” As I thought on this, I realized just how short this life is and the passion I have to make His great name known was renewed. 

So as this year ends and a new one begins, I have resolved that despite my circumstances I want my life to count for His glory.

I want to live as if He could return today, because He could.

I want to live of life dressed in readiness for His return.

We can do this despite the drama of our lives.

We can do this by daily surrendering to Him. Daily being filled with the Spirit and daily relying fully on Christ.

So I challenge you as the Lord challenged me…. “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith (Hebrews 12:2)

Let us live our lives sold out in obedience to whatever He has called us to.

Let us really know that He is coming soon and He will make all things new!!!!!

Happy New Year!!!!

Leave a Reply

