Saltless Pretzels

images-1Some things should be salty, especially pretzels. A few weeks ago we  purchased a bag of pretzels and did not realize until much later that they were saltless. Now, I know some of you don’t like pretzels period, but I actually enjoy them except when they are without salt. Seriously, they have absolutely no taste without salt and in my opinion are worthless, no good!

In my quiet time today, I read where Jesus is giving the Sermon on the Mount. He has just finished describing the appropriate behavior of a Christian and then goes on to illustrate what one who professes to be a Christian yet fails to live it is like. Jesus makes it clear that such a person is no better than saltless salt or hidden light. Basically saying, they are worthless.

Sadly to say, this could be used to describe me at times in my life. Claiming to be a Christian but failing to live like it. Resembling the world and its values more than the Lord and His Word.

I also have encountered many of these along the way. Those who look the right part on Sunday but look like the world, talk like the world and live like the world the rest of the week.

It is when we live like this that we fail to bring any glory to God. We add nothing to His Kingdom and are pretty much useless.

I don’t know about you, but I long to be used to honor my King. I long to be His hands and His feet and to make a difference for eternity.

Saltless pretzels and pretty disgusting and to be honest so are saltless Christians.

So, “Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven (Math. 5:16).”

images

Leave a Reply

