Do you love me?

z209447432The Lord asks, “Do you love me?”

Our quick response is, “Yes, Lord, you know I love you.”

To which He responds with a command of something He wants us to do and obey.

Years ago the Lord asked me, Do you love me? I said yes and He told me to go to Seminary and I went.

After graduation He asked.  Do you love me? Once more I said yes and He said be a pastors wife and I was.

8 years after serving in the pastorate He ask. Do you love me? Yes, Lord I responded. And He told us to move our family of five to Korea and we packed up and went.

Now He asks? Do you love me? I’m a little nervous but I say, yes Lord.  He says, leave your kids and travel around the world to Nepal for a few weeks. And the days draw nearer…..

Jesus said, “If anyone comes to me, and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters–yes, even his own life–he cannot be my disciple (Luke 14:26-27).”

As I read these words this morning I was struck. Many read these words and think how could He say this? Does He really want us to hate our family. No, but in comparison to the love we have for Him, at times it may seem this way.

So as I pondered these words, I was reminded that the Lord has already asked us to leave our family and our home, our comforts and security. We have done this and He blessed. Now, He has taken it a bit further in my opinion. For now, He ask, are you willing to leave your children for a few weeks to serve me.

I must say this has been such a challenge and each night as I tuck my kids in bed and kiss their sweet faces, my heart breaks and He ask once more, “Do you love me, do you trust me?”

There has been a definite progression with His questions, each time I have responded with yes, what He has asked has proven a bit harder but has served as a greater blessing. I am grateful for the knowledge gained in seminary. Was blessed and grown through our time in the pastorate. We found great fulfilling joy in Korea and would not trade this time for the world.

As I have thought on this, He has brought great peace. Peace that just as He has been with us each step of the way and brought us through each part of our journey. He is with us now and He will go with us. How thankful I am that we serve the living God whose presence will be with us as we are in Nepal but will also remain here with our children as we go.

I rejoice that He has not abandoned us yet and will not start now. I rejoice that I can trust in Him because He is always faithful.

The Bible says, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments (John 14:15).”

So, do we really love the Lord? Our obedience to what He ask, will be the proof.

The Lord said, “You shall love the Lord your God with all of your heart, soul, mind and strength(Luke 10:27).”

Let us then love Him with all we are and may this great love be demonstrated to a lost world, by what we do.

One thought on “Do you love me?

  1. Pingback: When your overwhelmed…. | mandylynncarpenter

Leave a Reply

