Beautiful in His Eyes

images (1)Have you ever walked through a Fun House at the fair? Thursday night, our family attended a fair and as my daughter and I walked through the fun house, we came upon the trick mirrors. Some made you look tall and skinny (I liked these) and others made you look short and fat (not so much). As we left the Fun House, I was struck by the number of girls all over the world who when looking at themselves in the mirror see themselves not as they are, but as fat, short and in essence ugly.

I know this to be true because I was once the same way. When I looked in the mirror, I did not see myself as beautiful, instead I saw only my flaws. As a high school student who longed to fit in and be popular, instead of seeing myself as God saw me, I saw myself as short, fat and ugly. It was if I was looking at a trick mirror when in reality, it was my mind and the lies of the world. Because of this I became obsessed with looking a certain way, weighing a certain amount. My days became consumed with counting calories and working out rain or shine.

I know that today many girls also struggle with their self-image. Like me they believe the lie that says they must be a perfect size and look a certain way to be accepted. Due to this, countless girls every day starve themselves, purge and dress provocatively in order to fit the part.

imagesYears ago, I wish someone had sat me down and drilled into my head that it is only the opinion of God that truly matters. That in His eyes, I was beautiful.

Ladies, listen to someone who had to learn the hard way. You are beautiful! You are created in the image of God. He designed your body and chose the color of your eyes and hair. You are His beloved, a daughter of the King. He knows the number of hairs on your head (Luke 12:7) and His thoughts of you outnumber the grains of sand on the seashore (Ps. 139:18). You are beautiful, you are precious. Believe not the lies of this world and do not live to attract the attention of others. You are more than the number of likes your receive each day. More than the height of your popularity. More than the certain size you are. You are His. The only opinion that matters is Gods and He thinks you are awesome! Live for Him!!

images (2)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beautiful in His Eyes

Leave a Reply

