Pressing On

 

My youngest son and I have begun riding bikes together. Each day we strive to add a few more lap to our workout. We began at ten, then 12 and today made it to 15. There were many times this morning when my legs burned and I really wanted to quit. Times when I didn’t know if I could go another lap. Yet, I pressed on. I didn’t quit or give up.

 

I have found this to be true in my walk with the Lord as well. As I have journeyed with Him the past 15 years or more, there have been both mountain top experiences when life was so good I could hardly contain myself. And there have been dark valleys when my flesh has said “I can’t do this.” When my heart has been weary and I have just wanted to quit. Times the Devil has filled my mind with lies telling me God is holding out on me and that He doesn’t really care.

 

So what do we do when we are in the valleys of life. What are we to do when we can not see His goodness and when it just seems hopeless?

 

We press on! Hosea 6:3 says, “Let us acknowledge the Lord, let us press on to acknowledge him. As surely as the sun rises, he will appear; he will come to us like the winter rains, like the spring rains that water the earth.”

 

 

Isaiah 43 depicts where God is when we are in the valleys and gives us the strength needed to press on. It says, “Fear not, for I have redeemed yu; I have summoned you by name; you ae mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with ou; and when you pass through the rivers they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

 

The Lord never promised that we would not have troubles or times when we didn’t think we could go on. In fact He promised we would have troubles. The difference is, when we are in the midst of the waters, the fire and the darkest of valleys. He is right there with us. He walks beside us and carries us when we can not go on.

 

Yet He desires that we press on. That we hold fast and stand firm. Believing that as sure as the sun rises He will appear. He will come and He will help us.

So if you are weary and worn today, cry out to Him. Pour out your heart like water before Him. But do not give up, press on! For He will come and He will bless your endurace as you remain faithful unto Him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

