Follow the Leader

Today I watched a flock of geese wander through the yard. They walked in a row, one following the other. I’m not sure how the leader was chosen, but the three baby geese walked in between the adults. The geese marches across the front of the neighbor’s yard, as I curiously watched to see if they would go into the highway or try to cross the road. Just in time, the leader turned and back across the yard they went. My guess is had the leader crossed, the others would have followed.

While I watched I thought to myself, how well do I follow my leader? As followers of Christ, our leader is Jesus. Most of us realize this and are quick to claim we follow Christ. But I wonder how close most of us actually follow Him. When He leads us to do something that doesn’t line up with what we want, do we follow or go our own way. Are we listening to His directions or are we going through our lives living for ourselves. When the Lord leads us to do something do we quickly obey, question Him or argue with Him?

As we have journey by faith with the Lord these past months, the Lord continues to ask me, “Do you really believe?” For if we really believe, I’m convinced we will follow the Lord and His leading despite how we feel. Our “yes” will be on the table and we will surrender to His leading. If we fail to believe, we will question Him, we will doubt His guidance and will be tempted to fear.

Paul followed hard after Christ. Despite the hardships that awaited him in Jerusalem, he was determined to go. Because He knew the Lord was leading Him here. Paul did as he was told, he followed where Christ led and He did it with joy. I”m convinced many of us are not following the Lord, because we fear what He may ask of us. Or we like living the way we are and aren’t willing to change. Another reason we may fail to follow our Leader, is because we aren’t even walking with Him.  If we aren’t spending time in His Word and prayer, we can be sure we will miss His leading in our lives.

At this point in our journey, the Lord seems to be narrowing down our choices of places to serve. We are faced with the question, will we follow or turn back? Will we go where He leads even if it doesn’t line up with what we previously had thought? Will we go even if going means sacrifice? Will we follow despite it all? If we really believe, we will follow, trusting and believing each step of the way and we will do it with joy, knowing as we follow we are safe in the will of God and truly there is no better place to be.

So, I ask you? Are you following your Leader? Are you sensitive to the Holy Spirit? Are you willing to ask Him to show you what He wants for your life? Are you willing to let go of things in order to receive more? Is your “yes” on the table? Can you honestly say, “Where He leads me, I will follow?”

We can remain right where we are and be comfortable or we can step out in faith. It could be He leaves us right where we are doing exactly what we are doing? Or it could mean a change in jobs, selling our home, adopting  a child, or going to the mission field. God‘s plan is unique for each person and no one’s calling is better than another. What He ask is not whats important. What is important is whether or not we believe and follow.

Give me one pure and holy passion

Give me one magnificent obsession

Give me one glorious ambition for my life

To know and follow hard after you!

One thought on “Follow the Leader

Leave a Reply

