Who Am I??

Have you ever wondered at the grace of God? Have you ever considered how amazing His grace is, that He chose to save you? Have you ever pondered why you have heard the life changing Gospel and so many have not? These questions often enter my thoughts and lead me to praise and worship the Lord, for I know if not for His grace, I too would still be dead in my sins.

As we continue in our study of Ruth today, Boaz finally enters the picture. As Boaz comes to the field this day, he takes notice of Ruth working in the field and immediately he goes to ask his servant who is this? His servant tells him, this is the Moabite who returned with Naomi from the land of Moab. Right away Boaz is made aware that this is the woman, I’m sure the whole town was buzzing about. He also learns how hardworking Ruth is, for Boaz servant tells him, she came this morning and has just now taken a break.

In order to understand Boaz instant affection for Ruth, we must understand who Boaz is. From the passage we have read thus far, we know him to be a wealthy man who is also well-respected by his workers and who is kind. Yet if we dig deeper, we find that Boaz is also the son of Rahab. In the genealogy of Christ found in Mathew, it says in 1:5, “Salmon was the father of Boaz by Rahab….” Which means that Boaz is half gentile and half jew, thus a half-breed in the eyes of most Jews. This is huge! You do remember who Rahab was right? Rahab was the prostitute we find in the beginning of the book of Joshua who protects the spies sent into Jericho. She is the one who hangs the scarlet thread out of her window so that she and her family are not destroyed. This same Rahab is the mother of Boaz.

With that understanding, we can now gleam why Boaz would be so taken with Ruth a Moabite. I’m sure Boaz knew what it was like not to belong. I’m sure he knew what it was like not to fit in and to be whispered about. My guess is this described most of his growing up years. So we can understand the sympathy he would feel toward Ruth.

Therefore, when Boaz finds Ruth working in his fields, he longs to show her kindness. So he comes to Ruth as we find in verses 8-9 and tells her, “Listen carefully, my daughter. Do not go gleam in another field, furthermore, do not go on from this one, but stay here with my maids. Let your eyes be on the field which they reap, and go after them. Indeed, I have commanded the servants not to touch you. When you are thirsty, go to the water jars and drink from what the servants draw.”

Ruth is as many of us would be overwhelmed. “Then she fell on her face, bowing to the ground and said to him, ‘Why have I found favor in your sight that you should take notice of me, since I am a foreigner’ (2:10)?” Ruth could not understand why Boaz, this wealthy land owner, who does not even know her, would show her such kindness. Especially since she is nothing more than a foreigner, as I’m sure many have pointed out to her. She can’t grasp what would cause him to treat her with such compassion and is truly overcome by this display of grace, so much so that she falls to her face, bowing to the ground to him.

This part of the story always gives me chills and leads me to fall to my face in worship to my God, who took notice of me, a sinner, an enemy of God and in His amazing grace, opened my eyes and poured out His kindness upon me thus leading me to repentance.

I nor you deserve the grace of God. Neither of us deserve salvation, none of us are good enough or have ever done enough good works to earn such salvation. The Bible makes it clear in Eph. 2:8-9 that it’s not even by our good works. For it says, “For by grace have you been saved and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not by works so that no man may boast.” What we truly deserve is Hell and damnation, BUT GOD, in His mercy and grace took notice of us and saved us.

Oh may we fall down on our faces in worship to our Lord and King who by grace through faith saved us. May our lives be lived in complete surrender for all He has done. Who am I? I am no one but a servant of the King of Kings!

2 thoughts on “Who Am I??

  1. Pingback: “God Notices You Today!” | Word For Life Says . . .

  2. Pingback: “God Notices You Today!” | Word For Life Says . . .

Leave a Reply

