Trusting God Honors God

I think if we are all honest, some days are easier than others to trust God. Of course we know in our heads we can trust Him and yet when the storms rage or we are left in a place of unknown, trusting isn’t so easy. We have all been guilty I’m sure of telling others “just trust the Lord, He will see you through.” Yet, I’m finding that when others say this to me in the midst of difficult times, quite honestly I just want to scream. Trusting God can indeed be difficult. So, I began to think, why is it so hard to trust God at times?

As I thought on this I was reminded of the familiar story of Peter wanting to walk on the water. He trusted and truly walked on water as long as His eyes were on Jesus, but the moment he began to look around and see the wind and the waves, he of course began to sink. The Lord gently reminded me of this the past few days. I’m finding that the times I lack faith and trust in God the most are the times when I am focusing on myself and my problems. We are told in Hebrews 12:2 to “fix our eyes on Jesus.” How important it is to do this. For as we fix our eyes and our thoughts upon Him and how great and awesome He is, we realize that we can trust Him. There is truly no problem too difficult or impossible for Him,

A  second reason I have found that makes it hard to trust the Lord, is when I began to believe lies. The enemy wants nothing more than to get us to doubt the Lord, to make us quit and to just give up. He will do whatever it takes to get us to waver in our faith. John 8 describes him like this, When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies. Therefore, when we began to recognize lies in our thinking we must as James tells us,  Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. How desperately important this is. We must think upon truth, which means we must fill our minds with truth!

A third reason the Lord reminded me of is that often when we are going through trying times or times of waiting, we grow weary and tired. Which brought to mind the night Jesus was arrested. He left His disciples to go off and pray. He told them “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak (Ma. 26:41).” In difficult times we are tempted because we are weak. It is during such times we need to pray all the more. Yet this isn’t easy either. If you remember the disciples kept falling asleep. However, I have found prayer is a necessity during trials, for our strength is found in Him. I’m like the disciples, I tend to fall asleep when I pray, so instead of praying silently, I pray aloud or I write out my prayers in journals. Either way works to keep me focused. But prayer is a must!

I will close with this thought. In my reading yesterday I came upon the story of Moses when he struck the rock twice and the Lord told him because of this he would not enter the promised land. I have always found this story sad, but I noticed something yesterday I had never picked up on before.  In verse 12 the Lord says, “Because you did not trust in me enough to honor me as holy in the sight of the Israelites, you will not bring this community into the land I give them.”  Did you catch it? God tells Moses he will not enter the promised land because he didn’t trust Him enough to honor Him as holy! As I read this I was so convicted, for each time I fail to trust Him, I also fail to honor Him as Holy. I fail to honor Him for who He is, God Almighty, whom the angels cry out all day, each day, HOLY, HOLY, HOLY! The Lord is holy and trusting Him honors Him for who He is.

I will be the first to say that trusting in the wilderness is flat hard. Trusting in the dark when you can’t see what will happen next is hard. Yet, as I was reminded of in this verse, God is Holy and He deserves my faith and my trust in Him. Yet, not only does He deserve it, it bring Him glory and honor. Moses failed to honor God as Holy in the sight of the Israelites by not trusting Him. Whether we like it or not, people are watching us as Christians during the difficult times. They want to see if we really believe all that we say. We like Moses can fail to honor God as Holy by not trusting or we can honor God as Holy in the sight of others, by truly trusting Him. I don’t know about you, but I truly do want to honor God as holy, honor God for who He is, the Lord Almighty. This happens when I trust Him.

How about you, are you struggling today to trust Him? I’d encourage you as I have to do myself to fix your eyes upon Him, think on Jesus and not yourself or your situation. Fill your mind with truth, whether this means reading Scripture or listening to sermons, let your mind be filled with the voices of truth. Third, pray, it is during the most difficult times we are at our weakest, prayer is a must. Finally, remember that when you trust Him, you honor Him as Holy in the sight of others. You proclaim Christ.

One thought on “Trusting God Honors God

Leave a Reply

