Seek Him First

As the New Year has come my greatest desire for this Year it to “Know Him and make Him known.” Yet, even in the few weeks that have passed, I’m finding this not as easy as it sounds. There are so many daily needs to be met, there are so many distractions and even just good old laziness that have been obstacles to be faced. The other day I came across a verse written by David. Like many of the Psalms, this was written while on the run and in hiding, this time from his own son Absalom who wanted to be king. It says: “O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek YOU my soul thirsts for YOU, my body longs for YOU, in a dry and weary land where there is no water (Ps. 63:1).” (emphasis added) At first I was struck by the fact David was seeking the Lord, thinking He was seeking Him for help, for an answer, for direction. Yet, as I continued to read it again and again, I realized how wrong my assumption was. David doesn’t say he earnestly seeks help, he thirst for an answer, or longs for direction. What he says and what you find as you read further in the Psalm is that he earnestly seeks GOD, that he thirsts for the LORD, that He longs for HIM. I was both amazed and convicted.

How often do I come to God just because I need help, because I want something, desiring direction or wisdom? How often do I come to God just because I want and long for HIM. To be honest the first outnumber the second more than I”d like to admit. Now just to clarify, coming to God when you need help, because you have a need, wanting His wisdom in making a decision or looking to Him for guidance are all fine. I believe they are good and that the Scripture teaches us to do these things. However, if all we ever do is come to Him for such things and miss out on coming to Him just to draw close to Him, I’m afraid we miss out.

David understood this, Paul understood this and countless others. They knew that what was most important was knowing Him and that this was done only when they sought Him. David could have asked for countless things and he had numerous needs and problems, yet his greatest desire and longing of His heart was to know the Lord and to seek after Him.

This past week another theme verse that God has reminded me of again and again is, “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you (Mathew 6:33).”  Though David had not heard this verse before, He got it and understood its truth. He believed that if he sought the Lord and the things of the Lord, then the Lord would care for everything else.

The Lord has been asking me this week again and again, what am I seeking? Am I seeking answers, solutions to problems, stuff, or am I seeking Him? Do I believe and do I trust that as I seek Him and seek to know Him, that He will take care of the rest? I am indeed a work in progress, yet I desire to seek Him, to know Him deeply, to experience His presence.

How about you? What are you seeking first?

Leave a Reply

