He will fight for us!

Do you remember the story of Jehoshaphat? You may be asking who is that. Well his story is found in 2 Chronicles 20:1-30. But let me summarize. Jehoshaphat was king of Judah for 25 years. His father was Asa and the Bible says that, “he did what was right in the eyes of the Lord (I Kings 22:43).”  If you study his life you will find that many times he trusted and served the Lord, while at other times he failed the Lord. Yet in the story refered to, he finds out that the Moabites and the Ammonites are getting ready to attack. The Bible tells us that he “resolved to inquire of the Lord (2 Chr. 20:3).” In fact he led the people in praying and fasting for the Lord’s deliverance. While praying he says, “We do not know what to do, but our eyes are upon you (20:12).” The Bible tells us that the Spirit of the Lord fell on Jahaziel and he proclaimed the Lord’s message. He said, “Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God‘s. You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your position; stand firm and see the deliverance the Lord will give you (vs 15;17).” We find out later in the story that God indeed fought for them and the Bible says He ambushed the men of Ammon and Moab (v 22). It’s a great story and one I recommend you to read. Yet, today I watched the Lord do just this for me.

Yesterday we were presented with a problem that we could do nothing about. I went to bed discouraged but woke up being reminded by the Lord that the battles we face are not against other people, but are against the enemy(Eph. 6). I was also reminded of this story and the fact that the Lord fights for us. The Lord led me to fast and pray about the problem we had and to trust Him to fight for us. All day I did this, and you know what, He did fight for us. He moved in the situation just as I had prayed and resolved it without any help from me.

He taught me much about His great power, He increased my faith, He answered my prayers and I give Him all the praise! I don’t know what problems you are facing, but I encorage you to take them before the Lord in prayer. Seek Him and watch Him move and work on your behalf. We do indeed serve a mighty God!

Leave a Reply

