Hope to carry on

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15:13

Have you ever had a hard time trusting God? Have you ever lost hope and just wanted to give up? If you are truthful, I’d say most everyone has felt this way at one time. So the true question is what then do you do when you feel this way?

At numerous times, I have felt all hope was gone. I’ve wanted to throw in the towel and give up. I have allowed the enemy and his lies to reign in my heart and mind and allowed him to win the battle. Yet, God who is rich in mercy it seems always, always brings a verse to my mind and helps me to establish a right perspective. Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.”(Ps. 42:5)  If anyone had cause for despair it was King David. He had been anointed by God at a young age to be King, yet spent many years waiting on God to bring it to pass. Many days he was on the run because King Saul wanted him dead and even his own son. Yet this same person when in despair and fully discouraged chose to place his hope in the Lord. 

I have learned that when I am discouraged it is most likely because I have placed my hope in something or someone other than the Lord. When I want to give up,it is because I have allowed myself to believe the lies of the enemy, instead of standing upon the truth of God’s Word.

See, when life is hard and it is dark and you can not see, that is when you must believe and hope in God the most. I’ve learned that  when the enemy is trying to get me to doubt the Lord , that I must fight back and resist the enemy with the sword of the Spirit. Friend, at such times, there is a battle going on, a battle to see if you will trust God or allow the enemy victory. Don’t give in, fight. Stand on the truth. Trust God no matter how you feel, believe in Him. He is still on His throne, He is still sovereign and He still has plans for good for your life!

I love the old hymns and one that has been going through my mind all morning is, The Solid Rock. I leave you with it.

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand

All other ground is sinking sand,

All other ground is sinking sand.

 

Leave a Reply

