What is normal??

For the past few weeks I have been struggling with this question. As I have thought on this and prayed on it, I have come to the conclusion that there is more than one normal. Let me explain. The world has it’s normal that says to be normal you must have a great job, a nice home, your kids should have all the opportunities out there and the accumulation of stuff is what makes you happy. Next you have your average Christians normal that is seeking to serve the Lord where they are, has a nice home and is trying to raise their kids up in the Lord. Finally you have the Pastors/Missionary normal. They too are seeking to serve the Lord where He has them, but they may or may not have a home of their own. They may or may not live in their home country. They too are seeking to raise their kids up in the Lord, but may not be able to provide them every opportunity and their children’s lives much like those in the military are moved about on a regular basis. Most of us fall in one of the last 2 categories, yet each are entirely different based upon where we are serving and what we are doing.

Since returning from Korea I have really struggled with the effect of this “normal” upon my kids. I have wrestled with what is most important and have even longed for a “normal” life. Yet, that is not what the Lord has called us all to. For some of us He has called us to the 3rd category and the normal there is  going where God leads, doing what He says, and providing the best we can for our children and raising them up with a heart for the world and His Word.

I have determined each person has their own normal and that what is normal for one person is entirely different from what is normal for another. I have determined not to compare my normal to that of the others but instead to embrace where God has us and what He has called us to.

How about you are you content with your normal or are you busy comparing your normal to others or coveting their normal. I encourage you to embrace the normal God has for you. To be content with what He has called you to and where He has you. I will be the first to say it’s not easy yet, I am leaning on God’s Word and trying as Paul sought to do to be content no matter what.

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Phil. 4:12-13

Leave a Reply

